Comics of June 17, 2015

I didn’t pick up too many comics this week. That seems to be the way Secret Wars is affecting my pull list the most – it’s narrowing down on the titles I’m reading. So far I’m picking up much less this month than usual and I don’t really feel the motivation to try all that many Secret Wars tie-ins. In addition, most of the titles I read from other companies seem to keep getting delayed, or otherwise don’t usually release on the third Wednesday of the month.

On the upside, it gives me more time to read back issues and re-read some of my favourite stories. It’s also easier on the wallet. I’m starting to consider re-reading every X-Men comic I have in chronological order, but that would probably take a year to get through at my rate. Maybe it’ll be next year’s project.

Anyway, the comics I’m picked up this week include Thors 1, Old Man Logan 2, Deadpool’s Secret Secret Wars 2, Ms. Marvel 16 and Magneto 19. Here are my first impressions, and links to full reviews will be added when they’re posted.

Old Man Logan 2 review

Ms. Marvel 16 review

Thors 1 review

Deadpool’s Secret Secret Wars 2 is fun. It continues throwing Deadpool into the original Secret Wars event and includes a brief fight between Deadpool and Spider-Man, Deadpool’s saving the Avengers by annoying the Hulk and explaining why he looks perfectly normal in some scenes of the first issue. It’s not great, but it’s not trying to be either. Those who like Deadpool should at least give this a try.

Magneto 19 is good. Half of the issue focuses on Magneto and Polaris working together to try to save the world from the final incursion. The other half focuses on Magneto trying to maximise his power for the event, no matter how much it will cost him. There are some good character moments. Magneto regulars should enjoy this.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comics of June 17, 2015

  1. xmenxpert says:

    Thors is really fun. Really makes good use of the premise.

    Old Man Logan has good writing and gorgeous art.

    Deadpool’s Secret Secret Wars was pretty meh. The humour just doesn’t land, for me.

    Ms. Marvel was amazing.

    Magneto was OK. A little too far back to the dark and dreary and melodramatic for my tastes. But hey, Sugar Man cameo! I do love me some Sugar Man.

    Like

Leave a Reply

