Old Man Logan 2 review

OMLSW2015002-DC11-15fe0In Old Man Logan 1, the hero formerly known as Wolverine fought a bunch of thugs before discovering an old Ultron model head in the wastelands. This set him on a journey over the wall that separates the wastelands from other domains in Battleworld. It did a great job of introducing Old Man Logan to new audiences and his traumatizing past. So, how does this issue fare?

Writer Brian Michael Bendis doesn’t waste much time in issue 2. On the very first page, Logan reaches the top of the wall and meets one of the Thors, in the form of one of the very hero he was tricked into killing years ago. Their encounter is brief, yet brutal. Somehow, the Thor sends Logan into the realm of Apocalypse.

This issue mostly focuses on introducing the world of Apocalypse, where Sabretooth is a horseman and while the forests are in good shape, the city is in ruins. Much of this issue is Logan meeting the Apocalypse X-Men and people being confused, something that Bendis writes very well. Another thing I like is that this Logan feels a lot more level-headed than the main Universe Wolverine, and it’s actually the others that lose their cool when the horsemen find them. Judging by both the horsemen shown and the X-Men team complete with both classic and new characters, this is definitely not the same Age of Apocalypse as the one from the 90’s. This helps make Battleworld more mysterious.

Although the writing is good, Andrea Sorrentino’s art is the real highlight. The Thor’s lightning almost looks real, and you can almost feel the power emitting from the Thor’s eyes. The environmental detail is always great. There’s the green forest complete with leaves and realistic looking blood stains. There’s the ruined city complete with rubble, skyscraper skeletons and the worn-out X-Men hideout. Even with their different outfits, all the X-Men are easily recognizable. Every panel has something visual to offer.

This is a good comic. While it has yet to prove itself important to the event as a whole, a man wandering through the different realms could easily make people aware that Battleworld isn’t what it seems. So far though, it’s a story about an old man exploring the world and figuring out that nothing is as it seems, while also encountering all sorts of situations that seem to be way over his head. If that interests you, or you’re a fan of Old Man Logan, be sure to pick this up.

I forgot to try my review scores in the last couple of weeks, and this is still an experiment for me, but here’s my score.

8/10

With the announcement that Old Man Logan is sticking around after Secret Wars, this series now feels more important. Like I said in the first review, I’d be perfectly alright if an older, mellowed out Logan sticks around while Laura takes on the Wolverine mantle. Just thought I’d mention that in this review – the fact that they’ve announced it makes me so excited. It makes me wonder though, will they have separate solo titles or a combined one? I’d give it a chance either way.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review, comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Old Man Logan 2 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of June 17, 2015 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    The writing is good, but the issue feels a bit slow. It feels like there’s some filler padding it out. There could’ve been a little more story. But the art is amazing. Sorrentino does great layouts and gorgeous art.

    Like

Leave a Reply

