Comics of July 15, 2015

It’s half-way through Camp Nano of July, 2015, and I’m a little over half-way through the book I’m writing. My goal for the month is 100,000 words and right now, I’m at 56,552. At this point in the story, the protagonists are starting to learn what’s really going on, but at the same time the villains are working against them from the shadows. I’m looking forward to putting all the pieces together soon so that the real battle can begin.

Enough about my writing though, it’s new comic day. I picked up Guardians of Knowhere 1, Siege 1, Captain Marvel and the Carol Corps 2, Years of Future Past 3 and Red Sonja 1973. Here are my first impressions, and links to full reviews will be added when they’re posted.

Guardians of Knowhere 1 review

Siege 1 review

Years of Future Past 3 review

Captain Marvel and the Carol Corps 2 is great. This continues where the last issue left off, with the Carol Corps rescuing one survivor from a ship they destroyed in the previous issue, thinking it was an Ultron ship. In some ways this is mostly a setup issue, but with a lot of great dialogue and debates between the Carol Corps. Captain Marvel fans should be reading this series.

Red Sonja 1973 is fun. It’s a collection of stories from various creators, capturing the mood of her classic era. Some stories are just fun, while others are more dramatic and tie into Red Sonja’s traumatic past. While this isn’t a good introduction to the character, Red Sonja fans should make sure to pick this up.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review, comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comics of July 15, 2015

  1. xmenxpert says:

    Guardians of Knowhere was pretty meh.

    Siege was awesome. Loved it.

    Carol Corps was great. The Kellys bring a lot of heart and humanity to the characters.

    Years of Future Past was great. Some really good stuff in there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

