Comics of July 22, 2015

Writing in a month where you work 1-10 almost every day takes up a lot of your free time, but that’s what I’m doing right now. I’m just over 80,000 words into my current project, and it’s looking like the rough draft will be over 100,000 words at this point. I’m enjoying it though, and in a lot of ways this book feels more complete than most of my first drafts. That’s not to say it won’t need improvement, but so far, every main character has their own sub-plot and I love how the plot and action scenes are turning out. I’m very much looking forward to kick starting act 3, which should get very intense and shorter than the first two acts. I know this paragraph is vague about the book itself, but with this being book 8 in my series, I’d rather not say too much.

Anyway it’s Wednesday, and like every other Wednesday, us superhero fans are showered with the blessings of new comic releases. I picked up Marvel Zombies 2, Old Man Logan 3, All-New Hawkeye 4, Spider-Woman 9, Magneto 20 and Uncanny X-Men 35. I wanted to pick up IXth Generation 4, but my local store was shorted. Hopefully I’ll have time to head to the other store later. Here are my first impressions, and links to full reviews will be added when they’re posted.

Old Man Logan 3 review

Spider-Woman 9 review

Uncanny X-Men 35 review

Marvel Zombies 2 is fun. Elsa Bloodstone makes for a great protagonist for surviving in the domain full of super powered zombies. Simon Spurrier’s writing is much simpler to understand than usual, but it’s still fun. The action is great too. If a comic about a warrior protecting people while lost in a land of zombies interests you, this is definitely worth checking out.

All-New Hawkeye 4 is great. Most of the dialogue is based in Clint Barton’s past, while he and Barney struggle to survive in a circus while also honing their fighting skills. Most of the modern story is told in wordless panels on the bottom of each page and it’s very effective. Hawkeye fans should at least read this.

Magneto 20 is decent. This comic mostly takes off where the last issue left off, with Magneto ready to sacrifice himself and destroy Ultimate Earth to protect his own. A lot of this issue focuses on Polaris and Briar trying to figure out how to save him. There’s a lot going on in this issue, but when we know the end result of what happens to both Earths, it feels like this story is dragging on at this point. Still, those who enjoy this series should still read this.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comics of July 22, 2015

  1. xmenxpert says:

    Marvel Zombies was a lot of fun. Elsa’s awesome. So delightfully sarcastic. And MODOC was hilarious, until Elsa splodo’d him.

    Old Man Logan was OK. Gorgeous art, and an interesting story. But Bendis’ writing just isn’t great here.

    All-New Hawkeye was great. Gorgeous art, and a great story.

    Spider-Woman was really fun.

    Magneto was OK, I guess. Didn’t really do much for me. It all felt a bit dull.

    UXM was pretty good. Lots of fun.

    Like

Leave a Reply

