Comics of August 12, 2015

It’s Wednesday, which means something very important to all of us superhero nerds. We’re half-way through the week. Oh, and I guess a few comics came out or something. First, I thought I would share my thoughts on the Fantastic Four movie. I’m not surprised or disappointed that it failed to meet expectations, not one bit. I haven’t seen it and I probably won’t until it releases on video. The problem I have is that this movie seems to have a dark tone. You can have a good dark X-Men movie, and Batman is at his best when he’s in a dark story. The Fantastic Four however … if there’s one superhero franchise that shouldn’t be dark, it’s the Fantastic Four. Fox clearly doesn’t know what to do with the franchise.

Anyway, let’s talk about a happier subject, today’s comic releases. It’s not very often that I pick up more DC titles than I do Marvel comics, but this week I picked up 4 DC and 3 Marvel. I picked up A-Force 3, Years of Future Past 4, Secret Wars 5, DC Comics Bombshells 1, Starfire 3, Gotham Academy 9, Batman 43 and Velvet 11. Here are my first impressions, and links to full reviews will be added when they’re posted. At this point I have no idea what to review, because I only have the energy for three, but I kind of feel like reviewing all of them.

Secret Wars 5 review

Starfire 3 review

Years of Future Past 4 review

A-Force 3 is good. This comic moves fast, with She-Hulk fighting both Sentinels and Thors after teleporting to another domain in Battleworld (which happened in the last issue). There are some story developments and some good moments between characters in the A-Force team, but this is mostly an action issue. I didn’t like this one as much as previous entries, but it’s still good and anyone interested in an all-female superhero squad should be reading this.

DC Comics Bombshells 1 is fun. It’s basically an alternate look at DC’s female superheroes during the Second World War. It’s a set of three stories, one focusing on Batwoman, one on Wonder Woman and one on Soviet Supergirl. I’m not sure if I’ll stick with it, but if the premise interests you, check it out.

Gotham Academy 9 is good. The mysteries surrounding the boarding school in Gotham continue to grow, and the characters make it fun. Olive in particular is more interesting with each issue. There are parts of this comic that feel a bit rushed and the narration feels like it’s cut off at times, but otherwise this issue is great. This is the most unique title in the Batman franchise right now – check it out.

Batman 43 is great. This issue explains what happened to Bruce Wayne after Batman 40, and why he’s not the man he used to be. There’s also some great Batman action, good story build-up and a cliffhanger that’s intense in multiple ways. If Jim Gordon as batman interests you, then pick this up by all means.

Velvet 11 is great. Ed Brubaker and Steve Epting’s creator-owned espionage series continues, Velvet returns to the United States with flair. This issue isn’t as intense as the last, but the intrigue is only growing bigger with each entry. Espionage fans should be reading this.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review, comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comics of August 12, 2015

  1. xmenxpert says:

    A-Force had a rough beginning, but got great once it got back to Arcadia. The beginning, in the other domain, was a bad idea and shouldn’t have been done. But the rest of the issue was excellent.

    Years was great, with the big twist neat the end being a bit poorly-done.

    Secret Wars was too much exposition.

    Also, Squirrel Girl was amazing and hilarious and you should be reading it. This issue has Cat Thor!

    Like

Leave a Reply

