Vampirella 13 review

VampiVol2-13-Cov-A-Mayhew-68c2dWell, this is my smallest pull list in a while. I only picked up 4 comics today so instead of bothering with a first impression’s post, I’ll just write a review for all 4. For someone who is writing a novel series about vampires and werewolves, it’s weird that I don’t read that many horror comics. So when they announced that Vampirella was getting a reboot next year, I had to check it out. Writer Nancy A. Collins is better known as a novelist herself, with a vampire series about Sonja Blue. Although she’d also written comics in the past, making her a good choice to take on Dynamites resident vampire heroine.

Vampirella 13 concludes Collins’s run and ties up a number of loose ends. Throughout the series, Vampirella took on a shadow entity, met a monster hunting organization called the Cabal and inherited the throne of the Nosferatu. In doing so, she made enemies not only within the Nosferatu, but in the monster hunting world and an evil sister she didn’t previously know about. This issue concludes pretty much everything that’s happened since the run began, with a treasonous plot to overthrow Vampirella’s position on the throne. It’s a 38 page story that involves several great plot twists, a lot of bloody action and some good drama. This issue has a little bit of everything you could look for in a vampire comic series and it all works very well.

The art by Patrick Berkenkotter is also great. There’s a good amount of detail in the environments, whether it’s the Nosferatu castle with the large courtroom and the fancy bedrooms, or a warehouse with the climactic battle. There are several scenes with a wide variety of ugly, bald nosferatu on the same panel, yet they all have slightly different appearances to help tell them apart. Although Vampirella’s outfit is incredibly revealing, she’s never drawn sexually and more often than not, she’s more imposing than anything else. That said, her outfit seems to spontaneously change in the middle of the court sessions. The colouring by Dinei Ribeiro is also good. The comic has an overall dark look, yet it’s never difficult to figure out what’s going on.

Collins’s Vampirella run has been great. While I found the first arc’s conclusion to be a bit anti-climactic, it was still a great read with some great mythology. The second story involving a plague and villains cursed with immortality was fantastic. Feary Tales is just fun, with a variety of fairy tales with horror twists and over the top rhyming narration. I would definitely recommend this Vampirella run to horror comic fans. Also, 13 is the perfect number to end a horror series on.

8.5/10

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review, comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

