Spider-Woman 10 review

SWOMAN2014010-DC11-4413eWith both this and Magneto 21 releasing today, there’s only one pre-Secret Wars title I have left on my list – the last issue of Ms. Marvel. And also with this, my desire for Secret Wars to finish intensifies. I’m not too worried about how the new Marvel Universe will compare to the old; I’m just ready to get there and return to normal comics instead of all these tie-ins. It’s just too much. Marvel, please give events a bit of a rest after Secret Wars ends. Anyway, let’s talk about Spider-Woman 10.

Dennis Hopeless’s first volume of Spider-Woman concludes with a weird one. Although the story makes sense of it, this comic includes hulk cows, a living zombie hive-mind and a solution that involves a synchronized dance. This is one of those comics, and it’s awesome. The fight scenes are fun, the dialogue is often funny and the former villain, Porcupine, gets his moment to shine. The comic does touch on the “end of the world” from Secret Wars 1, but that’s mostly to show when this comic takes place. This story is otherwise self-contained.

The art by Natacha Bustos is also good. It’s a simple look, but it’s detailed when it needs to be. The action flows well and there’s a decent variety of characters in the backgrounds, most of which look straight out of a western. And of course the hulk cows look kind of awesome. Vero Gandini’s colouring makes this comic bright, colourful and appealing to the eye.

There’s not much else to say about this comic. It’s delightfully weird and provides us with a nice break from Secret Wars, even if the beginning and the end directly talk about it. If this is the kind of storytelling Hopeless will bring us with Spider-Woman restarts after Secret Wars, we’re in for a treat. If anything here sounds like fun, by all means pick this up along with Spider-Woman 9 (the first part of this story).

8/10

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review, comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spider-Woman 10 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of August 26, 2015 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    Hulk Cows. That’s all anyone needs to say, really. Though that ending is so sad. So tragic. Poor Jess.

    Like

Leave a Reply

