Death Vigil 8 review

death_vigil_8_cover__to_all_things_there_is_an_end_by_nebezial-d84rahySo, for the second time in two months, I only picked up 4 comics in one week. As such, I’ll just write 4 reviews and not bother with my first impressions post. It’s been a while since the last issue of Death Vigil, although I understand why. Everything about this comic is created by Stjepan Sejic; the writing, the art. He also recently fell ill, and while he’s better now, all of his work got delayed. Death Vigil 8 is totally worth the wait.

This concludes the first story arc of Death Vigil, and I truly hope there is more to come. The last issue left off with Maria stealing Bernie’s grim reaper powers and thinking she resurrected her daughter, only to bring in a monster who’s tearing apart the veil between Earth and a dark dimension filled with more monsters. This issue is pretty epic.

The fight between Bernie’s Death Vigil team, the monsters and the evil necromancers takes up most of the issue. It mixes sneak attacks, battles between giant undead beasts and Bernie transforming into a flying death machine. Despite all the intensity, Sejic still finds room for the humour that makes his writing so special. James (a Death Vigil member) and Mia (a good undead monster) throw in gaming references for some great jokes, especially when James commands Sam’s Viking zombies to perform DPS.

“You broke my Vikings!”

There’s also room for drama, most notably between Bernie and Sam. All of the core characters have a moment of some sort in this issue. The story feels complete in a satisfying way, yet there are a few weird moments in the middle of the fight and a cliffhanger that suggests more is going on.

The art is utterly fantastic. There’s a wide range of facial expressions, but perhaps my favourite is when the Vikings progress from being confused about “DPS” to being excited to kill things as quickly as possible. You really feel each character’s playful nature through their expressions. The fight looks epic too, with tentacles, bizarre eyes and glowing tongues all over the place. Bernie’s monster form is downright scary in how awesome it looks. The comic is bright and colourful throughout. Sejic is among the best artists in the industry, and this issue is some of his best work that I’ve seen.

I’m not sure what else to say here. Death Vigil is a thoroughly entertaining series, and if you haven’t checked it out yet, you should be sure to pick it up in trade. For those who have, this issue is not to be missed. This is my favourite comic of the week (maybe even the month so far) and I would recommend in to anyone interested in fantasy comics.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review, comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

