MODOK Assassin 5 review

4819102-modoka2015005_dc11-0I only picked up 3 comics this week, so let’s review all of them. This series is so stupid, and it won’t be for everyone, but it’s so much fun.

Written by Chris Yost, MODOK Assassin takes place in Killville, a domain in Battleworld filled with villains and killers in an everlasting war of death. MODOK may just be the best killer of the bunch, but when he came across a hammerless Angela Thor in the first issue, he felt a strange attraction to her. The rest of this mini-series is them working together to figure out what’s going on, culminating in this final issue.

This particular issue is a very wordy comic. There’s a lot of text revealing plot twists, Baron Mordo’s motivations and the real extent of MODOK’s abilities. I found the opening narration of MODOK describing everything he loves about Angela a bit too long, even if it’s still fun. The action itself is fast paced though, and MODOK has a lot of great one-liners when he criticizes Mordo’s plan.

The art by Amiclar Pinna is good. It’s an overall clean look that’s smooth and appealing to the eye, and every now and then there’s a lot of detail on characters or Baron Mordo’s magical power. MODOK’s chainsaw with “Kill” written on the side is particularly awesome, and so is the panel where Angela re-acquires her hammer. The best panel however is when Baron Mordo is killed – it’s just hilarious. The colouring by Rachelle Rosenberg is also good.

Although this issue is a bit wordy at times, it’s a delightful read. Some will find MODOK’s narration insufferable, but for me it’s a highlight, except for a few moments in this issue where it seemed to go on a bit too long. In any case, this is a fun comedy series that’s completely self-contained. I’m getting sick of Secret Wars overall, but MODOK Assassin helps relieve that a bit. Definitely read this if the concept sounds interesting to you.

7/10

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review, comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MODOK Assassin 5 review

  1. xmenxpert says:

    This was gloriously ridiculous, and really fun. Gotta love MODOK insulting Mordo.

    Like

Leave a Reply

