I Hate Fairyland 1 review

IHFL01-cov-d9a09I don’t hate “I Hate Fairyland”.

Scottie Young is unique in the comic industry. Although he’s been writing for Marvel for several years, and has been doing art for them since at least 2007, he’s definitely not your average artist or writer. In some ways he’s more of a cartoonist. Young’s Rocket Raccoon is a straight comedy, and so are most of his one shots and minis. One thing’s for sure though, he’s almost always a very entertaining writer. So let’s see how he handles his first creator-owned series.

I Hate Fairyland is a tale about Gertrude, a green-haired child who is trapped in a fairy tale world. It’s a world filled with Ice Cream Islands, mushroom cops, talking stars and moons, and a slug with “Slug Life” tattooed on his chest. Over 27 years, she’s matured mentally yet hasn’t physically aged a day, which enhances a lot of the comic’s humour. Completely sick of the place, she starts rampaging through the world of make belief.

Every page in this comic has at least one amusing moment, whether it’s the fairy tale profanity like “hugger fluffer”, Gertrude getting high after eating some of the mushroom cops or the talking cannonballs. There’s so much imagination thrown into this twisted world that it’s ridiculous. After the main story, there’s also a nice letter from Scottie describing his journey into comics and how he’s always wanted to write for Image.

The art, also by Scottie Young, is delightful. Gertrude’s grin while slaughtering fairy tale creatures is perfect. The blend of cute looking creatures being blown to pieces, complete with blood and guts, only adds to the joke. In Las Fungus, there are plenty of fun names for businesses that I won’t spoil. Also, who can beat Gertrude’s fully automatic cannon? The colouring by Jean-Francois Beaulieu is also great – the whole comic is bright and colourful, but would you expect anything else from fairyland?

If you like Scottie Young, you need to pick up this comic. If you haven’t tried anything from him, now’s your chance. This is a great start to a comedic series and anyone who likes the concept should at least read I Hate Fairyland.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic, comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Hate Fairyland 1 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of October 14, 2015 | healed1337

Leave a Reply

