Age of Apocalypse 5 review

AOA2015005-DC11-LR-d83dcAs I mentioned in my Astonishing Ant-Man 1 review, I only picked up 3 comics this week. I would say that I can’t wait for next month when a bunch of the titles I’m waiting for finally release, but apparently even more of them are getting delayed. Because there’s so little to talk about this week I may post a bit of a reading and writing update later, but for now let’s talk about the final issue in Fabian Nicieza’s Age of Apocalypse mini-series.

A lot of stuff happens in this issue. In Age of Apocalypse 4, Apocalypse died shortly after releasing the legacy virus on the world, and so did Magneto. The rest of the X-men, along with Apocalypse’s former horsemen, struggle to cure the virus while Nemesis tries to take over. How exactly can Nemesis take over? Well, by stealing everyone’s mutant powers while making himself immune to the legacy virus of course. This is an intense issue with a lot of action, some weird antics by Mr. Sinister, and an ending that feels kind of nice and fitting for such a dark series.

This entire mini-series isn’t just a love letter to Age of Apocalypse. It feels like a love letter to the X-men of the 90’s in general. The Legacy Virus was a major storyline that lasted through most of the decade, just like Decimation lasted from 2005 to 2012. Most of the major characters in this series were from the 90’s, with the exception of the main perspective character, Cipher. He’s not in this issue quite as much but his commentary still adds to the depth of the story. Nicieza’s writing is very strong overall, and even though this issue is so jam packed with stuff happening, it’s never difficult to follow and it doesn’t feel rushed.

The art by Iban Coello is so 90’s. The more powerful characters have exaggerated edges, muscles and outfits, while other characters look a bit more like they’re from a cartoon. Either way, there’s a lot of detail both in character uniforms and in the background. Not everyone will like the style, but it’s very well done. The colouring by David Curiel is fantastic – the whole comic is bright and colourful.

Any fan of 90’s X-Men comics should pick this up, not just out of nostalgia, but because it’s just a great comic written and drawn in pure 90’s style. It’s also a great alternate version of Age of Apocalypse, with a tight story and a consistent feel. It’s actually hard to figure out which of Secret Wars’s X-men tie-ins were the best, this, Inferno or Years of Future Past. I haven’t read the others (besides Old Man Logan) so I can’t comment on them.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic, comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Age of Apocalypse 5 review

  1. xmenxpert says:

    I’ll be honest, I found this issue to be a major let-down, and one that actually hurt the whole series. The first issue made it seem like Doug was going to play a major role in the story, but nope! He narrates, and that’s it. Nicieza could have used anyone to narrate the story, without wasting time setting Doug up as crucial to whatever.

    The bigger problem was the ending. So, Jean removes everyone’s mutant powers, making them all human . . . and that’s a good thing? The X-Men are a story about diversity. So how is reducing diversity a happy ending? It’d be like a story with gay people all being made straight, and that’s treated as a happy ending. It’s not a happy, hopeful ending. It’s saying that the only way for things to get better is to remove our differences. That’s the message of this ending. That’s what Nicieza’s saying: “Being different is bad, being the same is good.”

    It’s a bullshit way to end the story. It spits in the face of everything the X-Men are supposed to represent. It just infuriates me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

