Comics of November 18, 2015

It’s three weeks into November, and with it, a bunch of Marvel’s new number 1’s released, along with a couple number 2’s. This week’s most significant release however, might just be Pretty Deadly 6. It’s been a while since we’ve seen this series and it’s about time. I won’t be able to review all that I want to this week, so I’ll try to review most of them. Also I feel like mentioning that my local comic store didn’t receive their full order again. They did receive everything I wanted to pick up, but this is the third time in 3 months something got lost. Someone at Diamond needs to be fired. At least this time they wasn’t charged though – the bill is on the box that’s missing.

As for my Nanowrimo progress, my comedy ended up being much shorter than I hoped, but I’m starting to make good progress again now that I’m writing a novella that’s part of my main series. I also didn’t write as much in the last two days because I worked long and late, and trying to figure out my new phone’s keyboard while I try to write on my breaks at work isn’t helping. That’s all the Nanowrimo updating for now, so let’s talk this week’s comics.

The comics I picked up this week include The Mighty Thor 1, Ms. Marvel 1, Spider-Woman 1, Extraordinary X-Men 2, Astonishing Ant-Man 2, I Hate Fairyland 2 and Pretty Deadly 6. Here are my first impressions, and links to full reviews will be added when they’re posted.

Extraordinary X-Men 2 review

The Mighty Thor 1 review

Ms. Marvel 1 review

Pretty Deadly 6 review

Spider-Woman is fun. Dennis Hopeless does a great job at exploring how being pregnant is affecting Jessica Drew, while giving us plenty of amusing dialogue and some good action with former villain Porcupine to keep the pace up. The teaser with the alien hospital ward is crazy on so many levels, especially the art showcasing all sorts of different aliens and … robots? This is already looking like it’ll be a delightfully weird series. Just check it out.

Astonishing Ant-Man 2 is good. This issue mostly focuses on Scott Lang’s short relationship with Dara Deering from Matt Fraction’s Fantastic Four run. There are some good dramatic moments between them, even if it’s more dramatic for one of them than it is the other. Meanwhile there’s a lot of plot development in the background, especially with the rate a villain app and Ant Man’s questionable employees at his security firm. Like Extraordinary X-Men, I’m not sure if I’ll stick with this series or not, but it’s fun so far and Scott Lang fans should enjoy it.

I Hate Fairyland 2 is awesome. Gertrude continues her rampage through fairyland, killing, drinking and causing all kinds of trouble everywhere she goes. Scottie Young’s writing is somewhere between poetry and bizarre comedy and it fits the setting perfectly. The art is equally delightful, with a weird mix of cuteness and gore. It’s everything that makes his Marvel writing so delightful, with an extra touch of creativity. Seriously, buy this comic.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic, comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comics of November 18, 2015

  1. xmenxpert says:

    Thor was good. Some interesting stuff. And I like that, now that we know Jane is Thor, we actually get to see her explored a little.

    Ms. Marvel was great. So wonderful.

    Spider-Woman was really fun. I loved the party. And I just love the Carol/Jessica friendship.

    EXM was . . . The writing’s good. But the book pisses me off.

    Ant-Man was a lot of fun. The Magician was great. And Darla is always cool.

    Pretty Deadly was fantastic. Just a gorgeous comic.

    Like

Leave a Reply

