Extraordinary X-Men 3 review

EXTRAXM2015003-DC11-c5d5fThe last issue of Extraordinary X-Men gave us several big reveals. One, it suggested that Adult Cyclops is dead, something that both All-New X-Men 1 and this issue confirmed in greater detail. Two, it showed us that X-Haven, formerly the Jean Grey School, is hiding in the Limbo dimension. After Mr. Sinister’s followers knocked Magik out, Z-Haven is under attack by Limbo demons. Meanwhile, Extraordinary 2 ended with Teenaged Jean Grey and Old Man Logan meeting for the first time.

Written by Jeff Lemire, Extraordinary X-Men is divided into two halves, intercut with each other. The first half takes up most of the reading time, with Jean and Logan discussing whether or not they should join the X-Men. For the most part this is the better half of the comic. It explores how truly damaged Old Man Logan is. Their connection could be a fascinating one; two time travellers who’s main universe counterparts had feelings for each other. I actually hope they develop a relationship closer to the style of Wolverine and Jubilee, and it looks like that might be what’s happening. Their conversation starts feeling a bit long by the end, but not to the point where it overstays its welcome.

The other half of the comic is a giant fight scene in Limbo. This half of the comic is kind of fun, but everything blurs together after a while. It doesn’t help that Humberto Ramos’s art style makes the hordes of demons look like a giant blur at times, making it visually hard to follow. That said, storm gives us some impressive power showings, and it’s nice to see some of the younger X-Men characters involved in the action even if they’re only given a handful of lines. The colouring by Edgar Delgato doesn’t help make the action much easier to follow either. The fight scene is almost all red, with a touch of white and blue when Storm, Iceman and a new character use their powers. The art works much better in the Logan and Jean scene. Their facial expressions capture their emotions quite well, and the montage of Logan’s memories is a great overview of the world he came from.

My feelings on both this issue and this series are mixed at this point. On the one hand, the writing and characterization is good. On the other hand, it’s such a dark and dreary series, which makes it hard to enjoy. The reveal of the original Cyclops’s death while attacking the Inhumans really doesn’t help. This issue officially drops the bombshell without actually dealing with it, something that All-New X-Men handles much better. In any case, it’s at least good enough to recommend that X-Men fans read this issue, but read it before you buy it. If this series doesn’t start picking up soon, I may be dropping it.

7/10

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic, comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Extraordinary X-Men 3 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of December 2, 2015 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    I keep telling myself to drop this series. I’m reluctant, because then I’d be buying no X-titles. But I should drop it.

    Because this is not what I want in an X-title at all. Lemire has made things so bad for mutants that they have literally fled into Hell rather than try to be a part of society. That is a horrible message for Lemire to be sending, and it pisses me off. The writing is fine, but it’s not blowing me away. Also, this is the second time we’ve seen Storm having visions of Xavier. I really hope this isn’t moving towards Xavier returning, because Xavier should not be alive. Ever again. He is a character who is far, far better off as a dead martyr than any sort of living leader.

    And Ramos’ art turns me off. I hate it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

