Comics of December 23, 2015

It’s the last week of comics before Christmas, and as usual, pull lists are shorter for most people in late December. This week I only picked up 5 comics, and next week’s looking like I’m only picking up one – which happens to be my most anticipated title of the month. What’s nice about this is that every single one of my comics today is great in one way or another. Well … except for one.

Also, I saw Star Wars 7 over the weekend and here are my brief spoiler-free thoughts. It’s great. The movie isn’t flawless by any means and in some ways, it’s a bit too much like A New Hope and a few scenes feel a bit rushed. The new characters are fun and complex, Han Solo is great and is basically a main character after he shows up about 1/3 in (like A New Hope), the story is interesting and the pacing is very good. Most importantly, it actually feels like a Star Wars movie. I intend to see it at least one more time in theatres. But now, onto comics.

This week, I picked up Spider-Woman 2, Angela: Queen of Hel 3, Extraordinary X-Men 4, Pretty Deadly 7 and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 53. Here are my first impressions, and links to full reviews will be added when they’re posted.

Extraordinary X-Men 4 review

Spider-Woman 2 review

Pretty Deadly 7 review

Angela: Queen of Hel 3 is great. This continues Angela’s mythology-rich journey to becoming the Queen of Hel, by taking on the second trial and exploring her connections to the tenth realm in an interesting way. This is among Marvel’s most unique and brilliant titles right now. Just check it out.Pretty Deadly 7 is great. This issue is much easier to follow on a first reading than most other issues in this series, yet there’s still plenty to pick out in the subtle lines and poetry. Also the action is awesome and captures how brutal the First World War really was. Pretty Deadly fans should be picking this up, as should anyone who could see themselves enjoying a comic that somehow combines fantasy, mythology, western, history, war and poetry while still being coherent.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 53 is fun. This issue mostly focuses on Michelangelo as he hangs out with Hob and his crew. They take weapons off the streets and otherwise just have fun, but Hob’s true goals might not be altruistic. It also touches on April O’Neil and Casey Jones and thematically ties their current split to Mikey’s personal journey quite well. The new direction for this series continues to grow more interesting with each issue. TMNT fans should be reading this series if they’re not already, whether you normally read comics or not.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic, comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comics of December 23, 2015

  1. xmenxpert says:

    Spider-Woman was really good. Lots of fun.

    Angela was great. Sera is delightful and hilarious. As a fan of Gillen’s epic Journey Into Mystery, I loved seeing Leah, and I loved the lampshading of how complicated her backstory is.

    EXM was so damn meh, and it had that one line that pissed me off.

    Pretty Deadly is amazing. So phenomenally good. Just a beautiful comic.

    Like

Leave a Reply

