Spider-Woman 2 review

SWOMAN2015002-DC11-LR-15b73At least from what I’ve read so far, this is easily the weirdest comic in All-New All Different Marvel. Spider-Woman being pregnant isn’t even close to the weird part, not when she’s in an intergalactic alien hospital that skrulls took over in the last issue. She’s trapped inside, other superheroes are trapped outside and she could go into labour any time now. Basically, this is a science fiction/pregnant version of Die Hard, and it’s so entertaining.

There’s not much else to say about the story itself without spoiling the few reveals within this issue. Let’s just say that the last page not only makes this story weirder, but further shows how trapped Jessica is. This comic is just fun, with Jessica forced to use her head if she wants to protect her child. It doesn’t help that she and the skrulls mutually hate each other. Writer Dennis Hopeless clearly knows how ridiculous the story concept is and he runs with it, throwing in some great jokes and well-written internal narrations.

The art and colouring by Javier Rodriguez is really good. There’s a great variety of aliens in the hospital who carry their unborn children in different ways. I’m not even sure which is my favourite; the weird carrot thing, the slug carrying a little slug or the furry beast that’s somewhere between Chewbacca and a dog. Everything looks clean, and there’s a good amount of detail in the backgrounds, whether the broken vending machines, the training room on Captain Marvel’s space station or the desk complete with lighting controls. Facial expressions add to characters emotions, the best of which is the look of pure rage in Jessica’s eyes in the opening pages. Everything is bright and colourful, perfectly capturing the entertaining feel.

My favourite comic of the week is between this and Pretty Deadly 7, but of the two, this is easily the more entertaining. There’s really nothing more I can say about this comic without spoiling the fun. Just check it out.

8.5/10

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic, comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spider-Woman 2 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of December 23, 2015 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    This was good. But has Jessica not upgraded her phone since 1998? Because that is one hell of a brick she’s got there. I don’t know if they even make phones like that any more. So that amused me. But yeah, fun comic.

    Like

Leave a Reply

