Red Sonja 1 review

RSvol3-01-Cov-A-Sauvage-9d68dI loved Gail Simone’s run on Red Sonja. It turned me into a fan of a character I never thought I would be a fan of, so you could say that new series writer Marguerite Bennett has big shoes to fill. I wasn’t worried though; Bennett has been proving herself a great writer in her own right in Angela: Queen of Hel, Years of Future Past and several other titles.

Red Sonja 1 starts with the death of a king. The rest of the issue is about Red Sonja growing bored with the peaceful kingdom the previous king turned Hyrkania into. It’s an amusing sequence where she reconsiders the previous king’s offer for her to take up the throne, while she hears of potential threats only to learn they’ve been dealt with already. It’s a fun way to glimpse into Sonja’s head without too much exposition. Of course the ending shows that not everything is what it seems, and Sonja will get back to her She Devil ways in the next issue. As proven in 1602 Witch Hunter Angela, Bennett is quite capable of writing in a medieval style that only adds to the mythology in a series like this.

The art by Aneke is great. Red Sonja’s new look is familiar yet it makes more sense from a fighting standpoint. Her facial expressions do a great job at capturing her boredom, and the seconds of excitement when she finds a potential problem to solve … before it’s solved by someone else. The backgrounds are complete with plenty of details, whether it’s the plant life of the wilds or the village in the background when she stands near the top of a hill. My only complaint is that nothing is done to alter the look of Sonja’s dream sequence, which confused me on my first reading when I didn’t realize it was a dream sequence. Jorge Sutil’s colouring is also great; the whole comic is bright and colourful.

Although this issue doesn’t have much action, it’s a great start to Bennett’s Red Sonja run. The real test for this series will be with the next issue though, when things start to pick up. Red Sonja fans should give this a shot.

7.5/10

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic, comic review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Red Sonja 1 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of January 13, 2016 | healed1337

Leave a Reply

