Captain Marvel 1 review

CAPMARV2016001-DC11-LR-079e9Even if not everyone likes her writing style, Kelly Sue DeConnick’s run on Captain Marvel is a tough act to follow. It’s the run that spawned the Carol Corps, probably the most vocal fan base in the world of comics right now. So who do you run to when you need to replace such an influential writer? Bringing in some of the creators behind the Agent Carter TV series isn’t such a bad choice.

Co-written by Michele Fazekas and Tara Butters, Captain Marvel 1 is a great start to Carol Danvers’ new series. She’s now stationed in orbit around Earth along with Alpha Flight, and together they act as Earth’s main line of defense against extra-terrestrial threats. The concept alone is perfectly fitting for Captain Marvel, and it’s great to see Alpha Flight show up as a team for the first time in a while.

This is mostly an introduction issue, but one that doesn’t waste much time. There are a couple fun action scenes, one involving a potential meteor strike, and another with a creepy ship attack that I won’t go into too much detail about. The dialogue is fun, although Puck is the only Alpha Flight member with a notable amount of dialogue so far. I’m sure we’ll hear from the others soon enough, but it would have been nice for the others to have a few more lines. That’s not a problem so much as a personal preference.

Kris Anka’s art is great. Everything looks clean and smooth, and there’s plenty of detail in the backgrounds. There’s a grand sense of scale when Carol enters the Alpha Flight Space Station, with a large hanger full of space fighters and flags for both Captain Marvel and Alpha Flight. Every now and then there’s a nice visual touch, like Carol handing Puck a towel after he lifts weights. The colouring by Matthew Wilson is also great. It’s bright and colourful, and the yellow tint the fighter cockpits give their occupants makes everything feel a bit more real.

Time will tell whether Fazekas and Butters are worthy of taking over for DeConnick, but so far so good. This comic is fun, the dialogue is great, and the pacing is fast without feeling like it’s rushing anything. Fans of DeConnick’s run should pick this up, and if you haven’t yet tried Captain Marvel out, why not start now? As for Alpha Flight fans, you finally have an ongoing series with them again.

8/10

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic, comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Captain Marvel 1 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of January 20, 2015 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    This was a great debut. Really exciting stuff. It’s jam-packed, but there’s a really good flow. I’m always glad to see anyone from Alpha Flight, and Puck’s always going to be a favourite of any Canadian, I think. (And they’re writing his dwarfism as a medical condition! And mentioning that it causes him a lot of pain! Yay!) Good humour, good character stuff, Brand is wonderfully Brand, good action. I really enjoyed this, and I’m excited to see where this book goes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

