Comics of January 20, 2015

This is unusual for me these days, to have two fairly big weeks in a row with comics. After not picking up Star Wars comics for a while, I decided to start picking them up again, and what better time to do that than the start of a new story arc featuring Obi Wan between episode 3 and 4? Of course at the same time I’m most likely dropping a few titles after this week’s releases.

The comics I picked up this week include Captain Marvel 1, Uncanny X-Men 2, Ms. Marvel 3, Astonishing Ant-Man 4, Star Wars 15, Devi/Witchblade 1, I Hate Fairyland 4, Batgirl 47 and Batman 48. Here are my first impressions, and links to full reviews will be added when they’re posted.

Captain Mar4vel 1 review

Uncanny X-Men 2 review

Devi/Witchblade 1 review

Star Wars 15 review

Ms. Marvel 3 is fun. Ms. Marvel takes on Hydra, and with help from Bruno’s new girlfriend, she tries to figure out a way to disable their mind controlling nanobots. This comic is weird, fun and ultimately satisfying. Ms. Marvel fans should enjoy this, and if you haven’t given Ms. Marvel a chance yet, you should.

Astonishing Ant-Man is good, but maybe not in my taste. Without spoilers, let’s just say that Scottie Lang’s relationship with his daughter, Cassie, is further altered at the end of this issue. In a way it makes sense – eventually every child’s view of their parents changes, but I’m not a fan of this new direction. Again this comic is good, and Scottie Lang fans should give this a chance, but I think I’m dropping this series.

I Hate Fairyland 4 is awesome. Gertrude’s strange adventure in Fairyland continues with her trying to figure out how to beat the new girl also trapped in Fairyland. It’s basically Scottie Young writing a creator-owned story, and if you like his other work, you’ll love this. That’s all you need to know about this series.

Batgirl 47 is good. Barbara Gordon teams up with Spoiler and Bluebird to infiltrate the GCPD. The investigation is fun and takes up the first half of the issue, while the rest focuses on the ongoing sub-plots. There’s nothing particularly special about this issue, but the interactions between Batgirl, Spoiler and Bluebird are fun, and the mystery villain is creepy in all the right ways. Batgirl regulars should enjoy this one.

Batman 48 is, as usual, excellent. Bruce Wayne’s journey of discovery is just as fascinating as ever, especially when he sits on a bench with who used to be the Joker. The main story with Mr. Bloom gets far more intense when he reveals at least part of his plan. Batman fans should be reading this story – it really is that simple.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic, comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comics of January 20, 2015

  1. xmenxpert says:

    Captain Marvel was great. Really great debut.

    UXM was drawn by Greg Land, so it sucked.

    Ms. Marvel is Ms. Marvel. It’s one of the best things ever. This issue’s got a lot of awesome moments. I really hope Kamala and Mike become friends, because it’d be a really positive message to show that, just because another girl’s dating a guy you like, that doesn’t make her a rival, and it’s possible to be friends.

    Ant-Man was good. It was fun. I like the little contempt-with-benefits thing with Beetle.

    Like

Leave a Reply

