Star Wars 15 review

STWARS2015015-DC11-ec43cThe Force Awakens has re-ignited my love of Star Wars, which I partially lost somewhere in the middle of the prequels. I’ve even written a few large blog posts about it, my personal favourite being “Why Rey from The Force Awakens is not a Mary Sue”, but I also talked about Before the Awakening and even re-read X-Wing: Rogue Squadron. I enjoyed the first three issues of Jason Aaron’s Star Wars run, but decided not to keep up with them after that. I’m starting to regret that decision. So when I learned that the next issue of Aaron’s main series after Vader Down ended featured Obi Wan on Tatooine, I figured that to be a good point to jump back on.

Star Wars 15 is great. Although we don’t’ know exactly how old Luke is in this issue, he’s a young boy who’s already proving himself to be a great pilot and mechanic. The way Obi Wan watches over Luke from a distance feels appropriate for the character, and the issue does a great job at expanding the not so great relationship between Uncle Owen and “Ben Kenobi”. There’s a fight scene with tusken raiders, where Ben shows a lot of restraint. The cliffhanger ending is good, but apparently this story won’t pick up for a few months, and that will probably annoy some people.

The art by Mike Meyhew is very good. There’s so much detail in the desert environments that it almost looks real at times, with the shadows within the rocks, the smoke coming from the damaged skyhopper and the desert at night while Obi-Wan waits for the sand people to attack. Obi-Wan looks somewhere between Episode 3’s Obi-Wan and A New Hope’s Ben Kenobi, and Luke looks like one could imagine Mark Hamill as a kid. There’s even dirt on Ben’s robes at times.

I honestly can’t think of anything bad to say about this comic. It’s a chapter in Obi-Wan’s life that hasn’t been touched on enough, and Aaron handles it very well. If the subject interests you at all, you should pick this up.

9/10

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic, comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Star Wars 15 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of January 20, 2015 | healed1337

  2. Paul Bowler says:

    The star wars comics have been constantly good, I enjoyed this issue as well, a fantastic story with great art.

    Like

Leave a Reply

