A-Force 2 review

AFORCE2016002-DC11-e15a2A-Force 1 is a fun comic, but it wasn’t quite anything special. It mostly introduced Singularity into the new Marvel Universe (she first appeared in the A-Force miniseries in Secret Wars), and a new villain (called antimatter) that somehow appeared with her. Captain Marvel and She-Hulk both played a small part, and then Medusa showed up at the very end. Again it wasn’t quite anything special, but it really was just a setup for this issue.

A-Force 2 is great. Continuing exactly where the previous entry left off, it starts to bring the all-female superhero team back together. One thing that’s great is that, unlike in Arcadia, the other heroes don’t get along nearly as well as Singularity remembers, but they still get the job done. The banter between She-Hulk and Medusa is often funny, and the reactions Nico and Dazzler have to Singularity’s sudden appearance are perfect. The action also makes great use of everyone’s abilities. The plot also moves a lot faster in this issue, without feeling the least bit rushed. The writing team of G. Willow Wilson and Kelly Thompson is doing a marvelous job with everyone’s characterization so far.

Jorge Molina’s art is also great. Everything has a nice, smooth appearance, and with a lot of detail. Both Singularity and Antimatter both have very interesting appetences, and despite their cosmic looks, their facial expressions are well varied and it’s easy to see their emotions. The action flows well and there’s a great amount of environmental damage and debris. The colouring by Laura Martin is fantastic. Everything is bright, colourful and well varied.

The first issue of A-Force is just good, but this issue is great. Even if the ladies aren’t officially a team yet, they’re able to work together as one quite well. Singularity acting as the catalyst for bringing them together works from a storytelling standpoint, and the interactions between the characters is always entertaining. In a lot of ways this feels like an Avengers book, it just happens to be an all-star team of the Marvel Universe’s best female superheroes. If that interests you, then you really should pick this up.

8.5/10

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic, comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A-Force 2 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of February 3, 2016 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    This really was great. It’s hilarious! So many hilarious moments and lines. But the most important part of this issue is DAZZLER DOES ROLLER-DERBY! I cannot stress enough how much I love this. I am absolutely on board with Roller-Derby Dazzler. It is perfect and I would read an entire series about that.

    So, yeah, this series delights me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

