Angela: Queen of Hel 5 review

ANGELA2015005-DC11-92c72Since I only picked up 3 comics this week, I’m just going to write a full review of each. What better way to wash my mouth of the taste of the disappointing All-New X-Men 5 than a comic as awesome as Angela: Queen of Hel 5?

This issue kicks off with the fight between Angela and Hela, which takes up about half of this issue. The fight is complete with magic being thrown around. There are some great one-liners thrown around between Angela, Sera and Leah of Hel, and the exposition is actually enjoyable instead of distracting from the fight. After the fight, things are resolved in ways that perfectly fit Angela’s character. Writer Marguerite Bennet utilizes Angela’s “nothing for nothing” policy in some creative ways, and it’s left wide-open for Hela to someday retake Hel. This issue isn’t as deep on mythology or poetry like most of this series is, but when most of the issue is a giant fight scene and the other is a resolution followed by a romantic reunion, that’s probably a good thing.

Also, “Entrails! Entrails! Entrails!”

The art and colouring by Kim Jacinto and Israel Silva, along with Stephanie Hans’s art, is utterly fantastic. Jacinto and Silva’s pages are very well detailed. There’s a touch of a cartoonish feel to it, but not so much that the monsters of Hel aren’t intimidating. The action flows well, and the energy and magic flying around is beautiful. Hans mostly handles the spread images mixed into the rest of the comic, and they’re all breathtaking. There’s a painted quality to each of them, whether it’s Angela charging Hela with Sara looking on in the foreground, Angela contemplating her new role as Queen of Hel in a montage-like page, or the final page as Angela and Sera leave Hel. Each of Hans’s pages are good enough to be posters.

This is a great comic. The writing is both intense and fun, with nearly perfect art to back it up. At least with this first arc, it’s well-worth reading if you like the Hel mythology in the Marvel Universe, you want to check out Thor’s long-lost sister, or you just want a unique fantasy series set in the Marvel Universe. Just do yourself a favour check this series out if you haven’t already.

9/10

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic, comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Angela: Queen of Hel 5 review

  1. xmenxpert says:

    Bennett killed it with this one. There’s some great lines all throughout (“Let’s upset the status quo” is not just a brilliant line, it is a goddamn mantra worth living by). The romance between Angela and Sera is so heart-warming.

    And then Hans just DESTROYS. One gorgeous splash after another. I will always love seeing her draw epic romantic smooching, and epic everything else.

    I loved this. So much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

