Extraordinary X-Men 8 review

EXTRAXM2015008-DC11-851dfThis series has been on and off for me so far, but if I look back, that’s also how Extraordinary X-Men’s writer, Jeff Lemire, started off his Justice League United run. That series ended up being really good as a whole, it just took too long to build up to that for a run that only lasted 13 issues. Extraordinary X-Men started off as a book with some decent storytelling, but it was a bit too dark and depressing for the X-Men’s flagship title. Since then the mood has lightened up again, and although this book isn’t great yet, it is getting better overall. So how is Extraordinary X-Men 8?

Today’s issue kicks off Extraordinary’s Apocalypse Wars tie-ins. The issue begins with a short but sweet conversation between Storm and Old Man Logan, which explores both of their mindsets a bit. This issue also shows some humans who don’t have problems with X-Men, a nice touch that helps brighten the mood a bit. The story really starts when Colossus’s team runs across the Sugar Man, in the middle of another one of his projects. The following fight scene is fun, and it explains how the X-Men end up thousands of years in the future for the rest of this arc. The ending teaser not only reveals this arc’s Apocalypse, but a new lineup of Horsemen that’s at least intriguing.

The art by Humberto Ramos isn’t in my tastes, but it works for the most part. You can see the frustration in Storm’s eyes on the opening page. The panels in Tokyo are complete with a lot of shiny displays and a good variety of civilians in the foreground and background. The future is a neat post-apocalyptic world with green plant life taking over the ruins. The action also flows well, and the warped spread when the X-Men are time traveling is crazy in all the right ways. What doesn’t work is that character shapes are often exaggerated, most notably with Colossus, whose arm muscles are twice as wide as his head even in human form. He’s supposed to be big, but here he’s proportionally ridiculous. Edgar Delgado’s colouring is fantastic either way. The orange glow in Storm’s office works well for her reflective mood, and the rest of the comic is bright and colourful.

There’s also a backup in this comic, which is easily the best part of this comic. It stars Magik and Sapna, a young girl introduced in the first arc of this series, as they visit Dr. Strange. Sapna’s mutant powers are explored much deeper than before, and it’s a fun little story with some great dialogue, a short but fun action scene and some great art by Victor Ibanez and colouring by Sotocolor. My favourite panel is the one where there’s a bunch of strange lettering floating in the air. Judging by this, Old Man Logan, All-New Hawkeye and all the DC material of his that I’ve read, I’m thinking that Lemire is better at writing solo titles than he is at writing team books.

I’m still not sold on this series as a whole yet, but despite my complaints about Ramos’s art, this issue is a good sign. The Apocalypse Wars arc has the potential to at least be fun, and Magik’s trip with Sapna already is. I hope this series continues to improve, because it’s looking like I’m going to drop All-New X-Men, and I would rather keep reading at least one X-Men team book.. In any case, this issue is at least worth reading for X-Men fans, and those who have enjoyed Extraordinary X-Men so far should enjoy this.

7.5/10

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic, comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Extraordinary X-Men 8 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of May 16, 2016 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    There’s so much here that should’ve made me love the issue. Sugar Man! Time travel! X-students! And yet . . . I wasn’t really grabbed by this issue. I hate the rehash Legacy Virus/No More Mutants plot, so that’s a huge problem. I hate Ramos’ art, so that’s a huge problem. But also, the fact that not a single character, upon learning 600 new mutants have appeared, all in one city, suggests that it’s almost certainly not normal mutant emergences – how the hell? They actually seem to go in expecting normal mutants. How are they that stupid?

    This book remains very very meh.

    Like

Leave a Reply

