All-New X-Men 7 review

ANXMEN2015007-DC11-397eaWith only 2 comics on my pull list this week, I hoped that both of them would be good. Darth Vader 18 is, but what about All-New X-Men? The generally optimistic feel in Dennis Hopeless’s run is nice in concept, but so far, I’m having trouble deciding how I feel about this series. All-New Wolverine’s characterization is terrible, but teenaged Cyclops’s characterization is really good. There have been some great Idie moments, but some of the writing in issue 5’s Notre Dame scene felt a bit off. I wasn’t sure whether to pick up issue 7 or not, but with only one other comic to pick up this week, why not?

I didn’t give what you would call All-New X-men 4-6 favourable reviews, so when I say this issue is an improvement, that doesn’t necessarily mean much. That said, the writing in this comic is really good. In the previous issue, Toad ran over Cyclops with a car and kidnapped him, and this issue is all about the other teenaged X-Men (except for Laura and Angel, who aren’t answering their phones) trying to find him after Toad sent them a really creepy video. Cyclops is in danger, and his internal narration does a good job at exploring how his mind works under these circumstances. Toad is also written as an actual threat here, which is a nice change from how he’s usually portrayed as a loser.

Without spoiling this comic though, even if the ending isn’t all that clear on what happened in the end, it might upset some people. At this point I’m a bit skeptical that, well … no spoilers.

The art by Mark Bagley, as usual for this series, is great. The scenes with Cyclops are appropriately dark and creepy, and drunk Toad even looks like a bit of a threat. The environmental detail, both underground and in the streets of Paris, are well-detailed. The underground is complete with Toad’s shrine full of skulls and candles, and the sewers look dirty. The streets are clear for the very early morning, yet there’s still some of the debris from the Blob fight in issues 4-6. Nolan Woodard’s colouring perfectly captures this issue’s creepy mood, with the browned out underground scenes, and the more colourful interiors of the X-Men’s trailer and the clear skies outside.

This comic almost feels like a horror story in some ways, yet it doesn’t take it so far that it’s too dark. Cyclops’s characterization is great, Beast’s frustration as he tries to find his friend adds to the drama, and even though we don’t know what Adult Cyclops did, it’s hard not to feel at least some sympathy for Toad. That said, I’m not sure how I feel about this comic’s ending. That’s what holds this comic back the most for me, and how the next few issues turn out could very well improve or harm my opinion of this issue. As such, for now, I’m not sure whether to recommend this issue or not, and All-New X-Men 8 is a maybe for me.

7/10

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic, comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to All-New X-Men 7 review

  1. xmenxpert says:

    This is a great issue. And a lot of them comes down to the art. The beat-down, and Scott’s battered face. Fantastic work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

