Spider-Women Alpha review

Spider-Women-Alpha-Cover-cc5a9Since I’m reading 2 out of the three Spider-Woman titles, I figured I’d read this crossover as well. Starring Spider-Woman, Spider-Gwen and Silk, this crossover has a lot of potential. Although Robbie Thompson writes this issue, Spider-Woman’s writer Dennis Hopeless and Spider-Gwen’s writer Jason Latour are both given story credits.

This issue is fun and does a great job at exploring each of the Spider-Women and their place in life, but it feels like little more than a setup issue. It starts off with the three Spider-Women meeting up and going for their semi-regular social visit, eating in what looks like a really awesome restaurant in Spider-Gwen’s earth. Spider-Woman’s concerns as a mother are touched on, but what works about her characterization is that she clearly cares about the other two, almost like a mother in a way.

The action begins when an adapting robot attacks nearby, and the scene does a great job at showing the difference between the somewhat unstable Silk, Spider-Gwen’s relative inexperience and Jessica’s leadership qualities. The action itself isn’t that exciting, but it’s meant as a distraction in the first place. I won’t spoil what happens, but it leads to a quick yet very emotional moment for Jessica Drew, and a last page teaser that could potentially lead to a great story later on.

The art by Vanesa Del Rey is good, but it feels like an odd choice for the opening issue of a crossover of this sort. Her art has a bit of a gritty look, but there’s a lot of environmental details, and it’s bright looking more often than it’s dark. Jessica’s apartment is appropriately a complete mess. The Clowntown restaurant is complete with an awesome looking playground for kids, several floors of tables to sit at and an overall party atmosphere. The action scene flows well, and facial expressions do a good job at conveying emotions, even though they’re relatively simple. Jordie Bellaire’s colouring is good too. The variety makes it easy to see what’s going on even with the relatively gritty art style. Again the art is good, but a more conventional style would make more sense for the opening issue of a crossover.

This issue isn’t great, but it’s a fun start to what could be a great crossover. The three Spider-Women play off each other well and the villain could make for an intense story later on. If you’re enjoying any of the Spider-Women books out right now, this is at least worth a look.

7/10

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic, comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spider-Women Alpha review

  1. Pingback: Comics of April 6, 2016 and thoughts on Batman v Superman | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    This was good, but Gwen was a total bitch to Cindy, and I don’t like that. I love Cindy. She’s awesome and a sweetheart. I like her way more than I like Gwen. So Gwen needs to back off. I’m guessing the crossover will lead to Gwen gaining a respect and admiration for Cindy and the two parting as friends, so that’ll be nice.

    And Jessica was great throughout the issue. A fun mix of sarcastic and nurturing. Snarky while also wanting to look out for the two crazy kids (one of whom isn’t actually that much younger than she is, but still).

    The story itself is pretty OK. Seems like it’ll be a fun crossover.

    Like

Leave a Reply

