Extraordinary X-Men 11 review

5283724-extraxm2015011_dc11-0So there are three Apocalypse Wars tie-ins going on right now in the X-Men franchise. From what I’ve heard, Uncanny X-Men’s is really good, but I stopped reading it after issue 2 because Cullen Bunn’s writing wasn’t enough to offset Greg Land’s art for me. This arc doesn’t have Greg Land on art, so I’ll need to pick it up in trade. All-New X-Men’s so far is pretty good, if you like Evan and Beast, but none of the other teammates are in the story at all. But then there’s Extraordinary X-Men’s tie-in, the first of the three to begin and probably the one with the most issues. You’d think this would help pick up Extraordinary X-Men’s pace after a bit of a slow and uneven start, but this story arc feels slower than anything prior. This issue does little to change that.

Long story short, most of Storm’s X-Men team is in a post-apocalyptic future, where Omega World is the last hospitable place on the planet. Omega World has a number of zones, each different from the last, but they all have one thing in common. Save for half of the horsemen of Apocalypse, none of them have any mutants. This is supposed to be the extended result of the terrigen mist on mutantkind. Ugh.

The last issue did almost nothing to expand the story – instead it’s just a big fight scene between the X-Men and the horsemen (Colossus being one of them). The fight in this issue is mildly better, if only because we actually see how each horseman’s powers are expanded, but save for Nightcrawler killing one of them in a temple (ugh), there’s no real sense of progress. The opening pages where Jean Grey tries to help Logan fight venom on his own are kind of nice, but she should easily be able to remove venom from Old Man Logan with her telekinesis alone after he fails. She doesn’t even try. It makes the fight feel kind of pointless. Apocalypse does reveal himself by the end if this issue, and it’s not a terrible reveal, but even he seems to have lost faith in mutants. Storm and Nightcrawler both feel out of character as well. Nightcrawler kills 2 people in this comic, when he’s historically very much against killing, and Storm doesn’t seem to react at all.

I’m sick of this comic’s depressing tone on that front. Both Apocalypse and Mr. Sinister abandoned mutants because of the terrigen mist? Neither of them abandoned mutants during decimation – if anything it strengthened their resolve, and that was arguably a much worse situation for mutantkind. Even the Magik/Sapna story, the saving grace in the previous issue, is kind of depressing here, although at least that story could lead somewhere interesting.

The art by Humberto Ramos is, as always, an acquired taste. There are some things I like about it, like how Jean Grey is drawn, Nightcrawler’s facial expressions and the various fire, ice and other effects from the different X-Men look good. Even if there isn’t much progress in the fight scenes, they flow well from panel to panel and it’s easy to see what’s happening. When Apocalypse shows up, his new look is interesting and it fits the role he’s taking. On the other hand, several characters’ proportions are grossly exaggerated. Colossus’s arms and chest are so big that you might as well say he doesn’t have a head. Venom is cartoonishly massive. Edgar Delgado’s colouring is very good though – everything is bright and colourful, and there’s good use of reflections and shading.

Like I said in the previous issue’s review, this series frustrates me, to the point where if the next issue doesn’t impress me, I’m dropping it outside of crossovers with other X-Men books. That would make this the first flagship X-Men title I’ll ever drop since I first got into comics. It’s fine to make a dark X-Men story, but unless you’re writing X-Force, there should be an obvious sense of hope. That doesn’t seem to exist in this series. Jeff Lemire can be a great writer, especially when he writes interpersonal scenes, but this issue is straight action and exposition. When there’s little sense of progressions in either, it makes for a comic that’s ultimately boring. I can’t recommend this series as it currently stands.

6/10

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic, comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Extraordinary X-Men 11 review

  1. Paul Bowler says:

    I must admit I’ve only read the first few issue of Extraordinary X-Men, it didn’t impress me much, and I didn’t go much on the new Uncanny X-Men either. The only X -men title I read atm is All New X-Men. Good review of this issue of Extraordinary X-Men, Apocalypse Wars has bee spread across the main books, but it seems very disjointed. I guess, I’m just not that happy with marvel’s current crop of X-Men titles atm, which pains me, as I’m such a big fan of the X-Men. Maybe I’ll get back into X-Men comics again after Civil War II, perhaps that will shake things up a bit?

    Like

    • healed1337 says:

      There’s the Death of X X-Men event coming up, and apparently after that the X-Men titles will work closer together than they are now. I’m with you though – I love the X-Men, but apart from the solo titles, they’re not very good right now. I’ve been thinking of re-reading all of my X-Men material in estimated chronological order at some point, and if the current titles don’t improve, I might drop them and just start reading everything through. Of course that could be a year-long project.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Paul Bowler says:

        Yes, the Death of X X-Men might be worth a look, I just feel the core X-Men books have lost their way a bit really. All the crossovers don’t help either IMOP. Actually, I’ve been re reading Uncanny X-Men Essential Vol 1 recently. Always great to revisit your favourite era when the titles you love aren’t doing as well now as you’d wish them to. Sure, reading the X-Men comics again in chronological order sounds fun as well. I did that with Tomb of Dracula last year 🙂

        Like

  2. xmenxpert says:

    Yeah, this was not very strong. Lemire writes the second-worst Storm I’ve ever read. Nightcrawler deciding killing is fine and dandy is weird. The main story is just kinda bland. I am totally invested in the Sapna stuff, though. That is going to lead to so much tragedy.

    Like

    • healed1337 says:

      For sure, the Sapna stuff is good. It’s the one truly good thing about this issue. The fact that it’s depressing and the main story is so dark and hopeless makes for an overly dark series when the flagship title should have some sense of hope.

      Like

Leave a Reply

