X-Men: Civil War II 2 review

CIVWARIIXMEN2016002-DC21-32806As an X-men fan, I’m saddened to see that none of the franchises team books are all that special right now. Extraordinary X-Men is slow, dull and way too depressing for a flagship title. All-New X-Men has its moments and I like the concept, but it doesn’t feel like a focused series, not to mention that Laura Kinney, my favourite X-Men character, is horrendously out of character so far. Uncanny X-Men seemed alright from what I’ve read of it, and it’s getting great reception online, but I’m sick of Greg Land’s art and dropped it after issue 2. So when X-Men: Civil War II was announced, I hoped for some sort of good X-Men tie-in to Marvel’s newest event.

The first issue of X-Men: Civil War II is pretty good. It set up its plot quickly, established most characters’ opinions on Ulysses, the inhuman with precognitive abilities, and gave us a great opening action scene. This issue isn’t quite as good, but it’s still got some great character moments and well balanced points of view. Magneto, while very nervous about the Inhumans’ newfound ability to predict the future, is taking a balanced approach and wants more information before he does anything about it. When one of his team members wants to leave, he  lets them, refusing to keep his fellow mutants prisoner. It shows how far he’s come since his terrorist days, even if he’s by no means a hero.

Storm’s team on the other hand is actively working with Ulysses’s predictions, stopping a Brood attack alongside Captain Marvel. That’s a nice touch considering Carol Danvers was involved in the original Brood Saga. So far, each character’s thoughts on the debate feel in character, even if a few of the sides they choose is a bit surprising. There’s also a fun duel between Gambit and Fantomex in New Attilan, where they both utilize their powers against each other and to make sure they’re not caught. It’s hard to tell exactly where this mini-series will go from here, but it feels like it’s building up to something big. And last but not least, writer Cullen Bunn’s Storm is so much better here than in Extraordinary X-Men.

The art by Andrea Broccardo isn’t as good as the writing, but it’s fine. There’s often a good amount of background details, and there’s good amount of blood in the opening Brood fight. Facial expressions do a good job at conveying emotion, but some characters, like Magneto, look way too young, while others have weird facial proportions. There’s one large panel toward the start where Magik holds her sword in a very awkward manner, but there are other times when there’s great use of body language. The colouring by Jesus Aburtov is good for the most part. Everything is colourful and appealing at first glance, but there are times when characters’ eyes are just a blob of white, and Nightcrawler’s eyes seem to keep changing colours. These problems don’t ruin the art, but they certainly hold it back.

The problems in the art hold back what is otherwise a pretty strong comic. The story is moving at a fast pace, yet there’s more than enough room for every character to sum up their thoughts. The action is fun, and you don’t need to read the main event to understand what’s going on. If you’re starving for a good X-Men team book like me, this could very well help hold you over. If you’re interested in the X-Men’s thoughts on the new Civil War, definitely give this a chance.

7/10 (with better art, it would probably be an 8)

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic, comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to X-Men: Civil War II 2 review

  1. Paul Bowler says:

    Like you, I’ve been disappointed with the main X-Men titles. I only read All New X-Men atm, and that’s been variable recently. I’ve not X-Men Civil War either. Good review, this issue certainly sounds like a mixed bag. I don’t tend to get tie in books unless I collect the series, but might give this one a look.

    Like

    • healed1337 says:

      It is a mixed bag, where the writing is for the most part, really good, while the art has problems. I hope that 1. All-New X-Men improves soon, and 2. there’s a mix-up with the creative teams on the other books after Death of X.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Paul Bowler says:

        Yes, I agree. Still enjoying All New X-Men, but not as much. Feels like the premise has run out of steam a bit. I think the X-Titles need a major overhaul, it’s something that’s long overdue imp. Hopefully that’ll happen after Death of X.

        Like

  2. Pingback: Comics of July 6, 2016 | healed1337

  3. xmenxpert says:

    This was pretty good. The Gambit/Fantomex fight was great. It was a lot of fun, and definitely the highlight of the issue.

    Like

Leave a Reply

