Comics of July 20, 2016

I guess I haven’t talked much about Camp Nanowrimo much on this blog, so here goes a quick update. I’m in the middle of participating in this year’s Camp Nano, July. Unlike the November writing month where the official goal is writing 50,000 words in 30 days, the Camp months allow you to pick your own personal word count goal. I chose 100,000 words because I’m kind of hardcore, and I passed it on the 16th. A couple days later, I finished my first book of the month, so now I’m working on a second, which doubles as a little break from my main series. I’m not talking about what this book is about online at all though.

Anyway, it’s time to talk about comics, and even with a big list this week, all of them are at least good. Today, I picked up Black Widow 5, A-Force 7, The Ultimates 9, All-New Wolverine 10, Star Wars 21, Darth Vader 23, Batman 3, Superman 3, I Hate Fairyland 7 and Velvet 15. Here are my first impressions, and links to full reviews will be added when they’re posted.

All-New Wolverine 10 review

Batman 3 review

Velvet 15 review

Black Widow 5 is intense. The plot thickens when Black Widow is shadowed by a SHIELD agent, only for her other “employers” moving in and turning the whole situation into a mess. It’s hard to describe the story without spoiling the fun, but this continues to be a great visually driven espionage series. Black Widow fans, and people interested in an espionage comic taking place in the Marvel Universe, should be picking this up.

A-Force 7 is fun. This concludes A-Force’s struggle against the Countess, with a lot of entertaining dialogue, some great Nico moments and a surprisingly dramatic ending for Dazzler (no, she doesn’t die … sort of). If you’re the least bit interested in an all-star female superhero team, be sure to check this out.

Ultimates 9 is fantastic. This issue ties into Civil War II in a way that only the Ultimates series can; Marvel’s current most powerful team solving problems that Ulysses predicts. At the same time, it teases a major conflict to come involving Thanos. This is not only an epic series, but consistently the most creative team book Marvel is releasing right now. Every Marvel fan should at least give this series a chance if they haven’t already.

Star Wars 21 is intense. It stars a bunch of Stormtrooper Commandos, exploring some of the reasons why some people would join the Empire and giving us a glimpse at some of the potential good they’re doing on some planets. It’s a nice alternate look at the other side of the civil war that we don’t often get in the Star Wars Universe. It doesn’t hurt that the action is intense and the issue finishes off with an awesome reveal. Star Wars fans should be reading this series, and this issue is a great starting point.

Darth Vader 23 is awesome. For the third last issue in this series, Darth Vader continues his assault on the Imperial traitors, showing off how dangerous he is when he’s focused and determined. Of course, the leader of the traitors still has a dirty trick up his sleeve that I won’t spoil. As good as Star Wars is, this series is even better, and Darth Vader fans should be picking this up.

Superman 3 is good. After Jon’s concussion at the end of the last issue, Superman takes his son to the Fortress of Solitude, only to meet the Eradicator. The situation moves forward in ways you probably won’t expect. This is turning out to be a great dramatic series about Clark’s family, with the right touch of Superhero action to keep the pace moving. This is definitely worth a look for Superman fans.

I Hate Fairyland 7 is fun as usual for Scottie Young. All you really need to know is that this is his creator-owned series, with the same kind of humour he uses in his Marvel work, but a lot bloodier and with fairy tale/style swearing. I find it difficult to write reviews for this series for that very reason, but if that interests you, then you should be reading I Hate Fairyland.

Velvet 15 is excellent. This concludes the first major story in Ed Brubaker’s espionage series, Velvet. The full story is finally revealed, plus there’s some great action and an ending that promises the potential for more stories about Agent Templeton down the road.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic, comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Comics of July 20, 2016

  1. Paul Bowler says:

    Batman #3 was a good issue, the new creative team are finding their feet, and I’m getting used to the art more. Its still not quite got the same punch as Snyder and Capullo’s run, yet, but its getting there. I really enjoyed Darth Vader 23, this series has been brilliant, love it. My fave book this new comic book day was Green Arrow #3, really enjoying that series 🙂

    Like

  2. xmenxpert says:

    Black Widow is still really exciting. Samnee’s clearly having a blast telling an action-filled spy story.

    A-Force is so much fun. Just page after page of hilarious moments, while still telling a solid story with plenty of drama and action.

    Ultimates is great. I love all the high-concept stuff, and the focus on solving problems with SCIENCE! rather than just punching things.

    Wolverine is great. Lots of fun, lots of sweet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

