All-New Wolverine annual review

5399809-0+anwolvann2016001_dc11-0I only picked up 4 comics this week, so I won’t bother with my first impressions post. Because I’ve had a busy week, I might not even get to all four reviews, but I’ll do my best. In any case, this week’s pickups include 2 major roles for Spider-Gwen, two appearances by Laura Kinney, a comic where the title characters barely show up and what is probably the most emotional issue of Ms. Marvel yet.

The All-New Wolverine annual, written by series regular Tom Taylor, takes place between All-New Wolverine 7 and 8, and it’s a classic body-swap story. Some sort of high tech weapon switched Laura and Spider-Gwen’s minds across universes. Right away this comic is very entertaining, with Gwen panicking after she switches bodies, trying to swing out of a window, and destroying a parked car on her painful landing when the webs don’t come out. Laura’s reaction is characteristically calculating, and even though she’s confused, she tries her best to adapt to the situation. Unfortunately, she’s got a lot more physical strength than she’s used to and destroys a drum set and a car door.

After the two mentally displaced characters meet up, they talk each other’s way through their altered power sets as they seek out whoever is responsible. This leads to several great moments like when Laura badly misses a web shot and when Gwen accidentally snikts herself. Gabby also has a number of great lines, and her skeptical reaction to Gwen’s first appearance in Laura’s body is hilarious. The culprit ends up being a fairly reasonable, if misguided, person who’s willing to set things right.

The art by Marcio Takara is great. The panicked looks on Wolverine-Gwen are great considering Laura is usually level headed, even if they made some of the early preview images a bit confusing. Gabby’s skeptical looks, like her raised eyebrows and her thoughtful look add so much to this already crazy situation. The background detail in Laura’s apartment is impressive, with Gabby’s appropriately messy room with a pile of text books, a food bowl for Jonathan the Unstoppable, and a sewing machine Gabby’s using to make Jonathan a costume. There’s also a Super Nintendo looking machine under the TV at one point. There isn’t always a detailed background through the rest of the comic, but when there is, there’s usually plenty of stuff to look at, like the variety of buildings, a small crowd watching after Wolverine-Gwen lands on a car, and plenty of debris after Spider-Laura breaks down walls and doors with her newfound super strength. Mat Lopes’s colouring is good. There’s some great shadow work in Gabby’s room in the opening pages, the gig where Spider-Laura first pops in is full of colourful lights and the flashback that explains the culprits motives is browned out.

Normally All-New Wolverine is well balanced between drama and fun. This comic is just fun – up there with the Squirrel Girl issue as the most entertaining entry in this series yet. The story isn’t all that deep, but there’s more than enough entertainment to make this comic a great read for either All-New Wolverine or Spider-Gwen fans.

8/10

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic, comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to All-New Wolverine annual review

  1. xmenxpert says:

    This is great. It’s hilarious. The sequence of Gwen stabbing herself in the head is gold. And Takara deserves a lot of praise for the body language. He makes both characters distinctively themselves, even in the wrong bodies. I also really like Red Hornet, and I hope she shows up again. She’s fun, and I like that her origin ties into a fairly notable Wolverine story.

    Also, Jonathan wears a domino mask. This issue wins.

    Like

Leave a Reply

