Other comics of September 7

Like my Gah! post said, the shipment at my local comic shop was late. I didn’t get a chance to pick my comics up until just after 7. Since I work early tomorrow morning, and I’m coming down with a bit of a cold, I don’t have the time or energy to write more than two full reviews tonight. So here are smaller reviews for the other three comics I picked up: All-New All Different Avengers 14, Batman 6 and Superman 6.

All-New All Different Avengers 14 is fun. It’s mostly a story featuring both the original Wasp and the All-New Wasp (Janet’s step-daughter). Nadia shows a great balance of a genius intellect, youthful optimism and being naïve, hoping to solve the current Civil War through science. Mark Waid balances drama and fun in this issue very well. Adam Kubert and Sonia Oback’s colouring is also great. It’s a deceptively simple look with a lot of detail, some fun conceptual designs and a lot of colour.

7.5/10

Superman 6 is great. It concludes the first arc in this series that’s about Superman’s family just as much as it is about his superhero work. The ending where he introduces his half-kryptonian son, Jon, to Batman and Wonder Woman is a glorious moment. Peter J. Tomasi and Patrick Gleason both do a great job on the storytelling (Gleason is also the artist). John Kalisz’s colouring is also great. And last but not least, Krypto is back.

8.5/10

Batman 6 is very dramatic. After Gotham’s death in the last issue, Gotham Girl is going crazy. While she’s saving a lot of people, she keeps talking to her deceased brother and barely notices when anyone else talks to her. The issue carries a very tragic feel, and that’s part of why it works so well. Tom King’s writing is very strong, Ivan Reis’s art is detailed, and Marcelo Maiolo’s colouring is well balanced. This series continues to be a worthy follow up to Scott Snyder’s run, and seems to get a bit better with each entry.

9/10

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic, comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Other comics of September 7

  1. xmenxpert says:

    ANAD Avengers #14 is great. Nadia’s wonderful. She is such a science nerd and it’s great. And I love how much Janet cares about her. I hope Janet’s a fairly regular guest in Unstoppable Wasp.

    Like

Leave a Reply

