Comics of October 26, 2016

It’s less than a week to NaNoWriMo 2016, and I’m excited to the point where it’s hard to sit still sometimes. I’ve written one of three potential warm-up short stories, partly to help me get into the head of the new major characters in this book. Enough about writing though – it’s time to talk about comics.

The comics I picked up today include Civil War II 6, Captain America: Steve Rogers 6, Star Wars: Poe Dameron 7, The Ultimates 12, All-New All Different Avengers 15, Star Wars 24, Batgirl 4 and Detective Comics 943. I unfortunately needed to drop a few titles due to the fact that this time of year is very expensive for me. There are 3 birthdays in the span of 3 months in my family, plus I had some unexpected expenses like the need to replace my office chair (plus my 13-year-old computer speakers are on their way out). I hope to catch up on some of these titles in trade at some point. Anyway, here are my first impressions, and links to full reviews will be added when they’re posted.

Civil War II 6 and Captain America: Steve Rogers 6 review

Ultimates 12 review

Batgirl 4 review

Star Wars: Poe Dameron 7 is fun. This story takes place sometime before the first issue in this series, and introduces a fun new character who’s both ex-military and an investigative journalist. And of course it features Poe flying through a storm while in the middle of a chase. What’s not to like? Anyone who likes Poe Dameron from the Force Awakens should check this series out.

All-New All Different Avengers 15 is good. This issue is entirely from Thor’s perspective as she’s asking Heimdall for advice on the ongoing Civil War. He shares a story about the original Thor and how acting on a predicted future didn’t go well for him at all. This could just as easily be a Thor tie-in to Civil War II, but because it’s a story about the original Avengers, it makes perfect sense here as well. I’m not sure whether this story happened in the classic comics or not, but it’s definitely worth a read if that interests you.

Star Wars 24 is intense. The rebels who stole a Star Destroyer are under attack by an elite commando squad of Storm Troopers, and they’re making it much harder for the Rebel’s skeleton crew to even handle the Star Destroyer, much less accomplish their mission. It’s a tonal shift from the hilarious previous issue, but it works very well and feels very much like a Star Wars story. This series seems to keep getting better and better, and Star Wars fans should at least check Jason Aaron’s run out.

Detective Comics 943 is great. After a couple of intense story arcs in a row, this issue takes its time to deal with different characters’ emotions. It’s a dramatically rough issue, especially for Stephanie Brown, but it’s not without a sense of hope. The ending also introduces the next story arc, which could be fun. If you’re interested in a Batman team book, you should be reading this.

 

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic, comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Comics of October 26, 2016

  1. Paul Bowler says:

    I really enjoyed Star Wars #24 as well, a really good issue. Indeed, this series has been excellent. Detective Comics #934 was really good, the focus on Stephany was handled very well, and this was a very powerful and moving issue. A great start to the new storyline.

    Like

  2. xmenxpert says:

    CWII was good, I thought. It did a lot to make Carol sympathetic, even if she’s wrong. The teens were nice in it. The art is gorgeous and the writing is solid. This is shaping up to be a solid event.

    Captain Steverica was pretty good. I liked the analysis of Tony.

    Ultimates was great. A nice, quiet issue, with great Carol and America stuff.

    ANAD Avengers was good. A really fun throwback story that captured the ’60s feel wonderfully. For the record, it’s not based on any classic story.

    Like

Leave a Reply

