Death of X 3 review

dox2016003-dc11-lrMy thoughts on the first two issues of Death of X are mixed, and this issue is no exception. My main complaint is that, whether this mini ends up good or bad, it should have come out a year ago. We’ve heard so much about how Adult Cyclops did something terrible, and now he’s dead, and after this issue we still don’t know what this evil act of his actually was.

Co-written by Charles Soule and Jeff Lemire, this picks up exactly where the last issue left off. The last issue ended both with the Inhumans knocking out a whole bunch of people to stop a riot, including Storm’s X-Men team, and Emma Frost contacting Magneto to kick start their plans. The first event obviously starts an argument between Storm’s X-Men and the Inhumans, with adult Iceman being ever so immature, starts a fight while Storm and Crystal are both trying to talk it out first. Up to that point the comic works just fine, as does Emma Frost’s somewhat vague conversation with Magneto.

The rest of the comic is Cyclops’s team beginning their plans. He doesn’t do anything too dark in this issue, but there’s talk amongst the others that he’s planning something that disturbs some of them, yet they’re working with him anyway. I’m not sure what to make of that. Until this thing that cyclops is planning happens, it’s hard to judge whether it’s in character or not. That’s what makes this whole terrigen mist storyline so frustrating, and the more they delay a proper explanation, the harder it is to care. Just get on with it already.

The art is handled by Aaron Kuder and Javier Garron, and I’m not sure which pages are drawn by who. For the most part it’s good though. In the opening pages, Emma Frost’s expression looks somewhere between determined and fatigued. Magneto looks a bit younger than he should, but otherwise he’s as intimidating as ever with his cold expressions. There’s a lot of background detail when their needs to be, like the flipped cares and fires in the background when Storm’s X-men are waking up, and the impressive amount of metal that Magneto throws around when he enters the fray.  There are five people credited for colouring, but at least when I flip through, it’s consistently bright and colourful in external day scenes, while it’s dark and mysterious in darker environments, most notably Magneto’s base.

I’m still not sure what to make of this series, besides the fact that I’m growing bored with this terrigen storyline fast. If it still interests you, this mini-series is at least worth checking out, but I’d wait and see what people think of the last issue first if you haven’t been reading this mini yet. Either way, I’m strongly considering skipping the whole X-Men vs. Inhumans event. Considering I have yet to skip out on an X-Men event, even Black Vortex, that’s saying a lot.

6.5/10

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic, comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Death of X 3 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of November 2, 2016 and Nanowrimo 2016 thoughts | healed1337

  2. Paul Bowler says:

    I didn’t enjoy this issue of Death of X much either, so I will probably skip the rest of this series. It’s such a shame to see the X-Men saddled with such a dull storyline. I really dont know what to think of Marvels treatment of the X-Men these days.

    Like

    • healed1337 says:

      By the looks of the recent teasers, it looks like after X-Men vs. Inhumans are done, things will change. A part of me wonders if Marvel’s recently improving relationship with Fox Studios has anything to do with it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Paul Bowler says:

        It could be, it wouldn’t surprise me if the X-Men films go back to Marvel eventually. They could do some epic movies the, Avenger s V X-Men, or even Secret Wars maybe? That’s what I’d want if I were Marvel.

        Like

      • healed1337 says:

        The Legion show is supposed to be run by both of them. Hopefully that means that at the very least, they could come up with a similar deal that Disney and Sony have. I’d be ok with that too. Plus we’re more likely to get R rated superhero movies by Fox than we are with Marvel.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Paul Bowler says:

        Indeed, it’d be a win win situation all round, especially as the x men stories have the potential to be much darker and edgier.

        Like

  3. xmenxpert says:

    This issue’s a step down. I did enjoy seeing Alchemy show up again. I love that kid! I’ve been wanting to see him show up again for years! But other than that, yeah, very meh issue.

    Like

Leave a Reply

