Superman 11 review

sm-cv11-dsIn the previous issue, Jon Kent met Damien Wayne. Things didn’t go all that smoothly. Their fight destroyed Batman’s genetics lab, so for punishment, Superman and Batman sent their sons off to a boot camp of sorts, trying to force them to work together.

Co-written by Peter J. Tomasi and Patrick Gleason, this entire comic is that boot camp, and it’s fun. Damien is characteristically cold and determined to solve everything himself. Although Jon is trying to be the more diplomatic of the two, they argue a couple times in the first half of the comic. Meanwhile, Batman and Superman are watching the whole thing, and growing increasingly frustrated as their sons solve most of the problems without actually working together. It’s hard to say too much more than this without spoiling things, but it’s hard not to enjoy the boys’ little journey together. The ending is also the perfect example of, no matter how much these kids learn, they’re still kids who have a lot of growing up to do. That and it’s funny.

Gleason also handles the art, and it’s great. Right from the start, the backgrounds are well detailed with a mountain with plenty of snow, footprints left behind, and a small temple on the top. There’s great use of motion blur in the opening fight scene, and the action flows smooth. The detail continues all the way through the comic. Facial expressions do a great job at conveying emotions, like Robin’s stubborn glares, Jon’s friendly smiles when he’s trying to get Robin to warm up, and the very disappointed looks on Clark and Bruce’s faces at the very end of the comic. John Kalisz’s colouring is also great. Everything is bright and colourful, and the white shading when Maya uses her cloaking device looks neat.

All-New Wolverine may be my favourite comic of the week, but this is by far the most enjoyable and a close second. The dynamic between Jon and Damien is consistently enjoyable. Since this comic features both Superman and Batman, and most importantly stars their sons, this is an easy recommendation for fans of both. It’s a great exploration of their parenting styles and their friendship through the eyes of their boys.

8.5/10

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic, comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Superman 11 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of November 16, 2016 | healed1337

  2. Transhaan says:

    I’ve only been collecting the Batman and Detective Comics series for Rebirth, cause.. you know.. he’s mah man. But after reading Volume 1 (I Am Gotham) of the Batman Rebirth series, I’m starting to think that I should expand and check out some of the…. better…. series to keep my hope up in DC. So far, which one of our heroes has the more decent Rebirth series for you? 😛 I am quite intrigued by the whole son’s of Batman and Superman in the Superman run, but I’m not sure if the series as a whole is a on good track.

    – Lashaan

    Like

    • healed1337 says:

      The Superman series is so far mostly about Superman and his son, Jon Kent. it’s almost more of a family drama than a superhero book. There is of course still superhero action. I’ll let you decide whether you think that’s appealing or not. It’s really good for what it is and I’m enjoying it a lot.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

