Inhumans vs. X-Men 0 review

ivx2016000-dc11-lrJudging by the fact that I’ve said multiple times that I’m tired of the terrigen mist story arc, and the fact that I didn’t like Death of X, you’d think I would hate this issue. I don’t.

Inhumans vs. X-Men, written by Charles Soule, is mostly a setup issue. That said, there’s a lot of great writing to make this an overall good comic. The beginning speech that Adult Beast gives to a young Inhuman scientist, Iso, is kind of inspiring, plus it’s a great character moment that shows off Beast’s love of science. All the characterization in this issue feels right. Emma Frost kind of feels like she’s slipping to her old, villainous Hellfire Queen self, but it’s not entirely clear whether that’s true or not. The discussions she has with Magneto, the young X-men and a mysterious woman show how manipulative she can be even without her powers.

The comic takes place over the course of six months, ending “two months ago”, and you can feel the rising tensions as time goes on. The inhumans are increasingly worried that the mutants will run out of patience with Beast. The mutants are increasingly worried that their species will feel its end. Magneto also realizes that the Inhumans aren’t just following the cloud around, they’re defending it. Despite all that, there’s a good balance of despair and hope. Beast’s optimism is dampened by some of his discoveries, but he doesn’t give up, and neither does Frost.

The art by Kenneth Rocafort is great. The environments are very well detailed, whether it’s the varied sharp rock edges on Muir Island, the high tech main building on New Attilan or the trees, plant life and rivers in the Savage Land, among other locations. Characters are well detailed as well. Beast’s body is appropriately covered in fur every time he shows up. Facial expressions are great too, especially Beast’s excited grins, Emma Frost’s mischievous looks and Magneto’s annoyed look when he’s talking with Emma Frost. Dan Brown’s colouring completes the look with a bright, colourful palette with great use of lighting, shadows and reflections.

Inhumans vs. X-Men is really good for a comic that’s strictly build-up. It explains everything you need to know about the terrigen mist story arc, while mixing it in with good character moments and rising tension to keep things interesting in case you already know. I’m not sure whether I’m going to read the main event or not, and this issue doesn’t help me change my mind. As an individual comic, I’d recommend Inhumans vs. X-Men 0 to anyone interested in the upcoming event.

7.5/10

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic, comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Inhumans vs. X-Men 0 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of November 30, 2016 | healed1337

  2. Paul Bowler says:

    Great review, still not sure if this is something I want to check out, maybe later in trade. I’m hoping the new X-Men Gold and Blue comics next year will be the ones that turn the X–Men book around for Marvel.

    Like

  3. xmenxpert says:

    This was actually good, which is surprising. Happy Scientist Beast, and Smug Conniving Emma. Both of them were in their best personas. It made for a great story. Also, the absolute best moment of the issue was Emma seeing Teen Scott, and shifting to diamond, as a diamond tear falls to the ground. So much conveyed in so little space.

    Like

Leave a Reply

