Batman 13 review

batman-13-coverI Am Suicide is an interesting story arc to say the least. Each issue has a completely different feel. The first was all build-up, showing a rag tag group of Arkham Asylum inmates that Batman recruits to take on Bane. The second focuses a lot on Bane’s past, the third focuses on Catwoman’s mindset, and the fourth is a straight action scene, with the entire narration being a letter Bruce wrote to Catwoman. That issue stirred a minor controversy when it first released, but I had no problem with it. It’s also been a bit of an unpredictable story arc. This issue makes everything clear though.

Written by Tom King, Batman 13 shows Batman’s plans coming to fruition. Each member of his team had a role in his plan from the start, and this issue makes all of those plans perfectly clear. It’s best if I don’t spoil what they are, but it’s creatively genius. The Ventriloquist’s moment might just be the best of them all. Catwoman’s moment is good too. In the end Bane is defeated, but it seems to only anger him, ending this comic with an intense teaser. It’s hard to talk about this comic too much without spoiling what’s going on, and most of the fun is discovering Batman’s plan for yourself.

Mikel Janin’s art is great. Bane’s dark chamber is perfectly creepy, with Bane’s pile of skulls on a stage-like platform and the cage walls. The action flows well from panel to panel. Bane looks very intimidating with his angry glares and his naked muscular body, with creative shadows and angles to cover up his naughty bits. You can tell through the art alone that he’s disturbed but sane at the same time. June Chung’s colouring is usually tinted a dark brown, which perfectly suits the dark and somewhat disturbing tone, while it’s bright and colourful outside of Bane’s fortress.

Again, it’s kind of hard to describe this story arc in too much detail without spoiling the fun, but of the comics I’ve read since June, this is the most unique story arc. I mean that in a good way. I still wouldn’t call King’s Batman run as good as Scott Snyder’s New 52 run, but it’s getting close. I’m excited for when Bane will show up next – it’s already been advertised in the solicitations. This series is an easy recommendation for Batman fans.

8.5/10

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic, comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Batman 13 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of December 21, 2016 | healed1337

  2. Transhaan says:

    Looking forward to binge my issues once the last one of I Am Suicide comes out. Good review, got me optimistic.

    – Lashaan

    Like

  3. Paul Bowler says:

    Great review. This arc started strongly, but that letter Bruce wrote to Catwoman last issue didn’t sit well with me at all, and I must admit I found the conclusion to the arc in this issue of Batman very underwhelming. While I’ve not been a big fan of how this story turned out, I do love the artwork by Mikel Janin.

    Like

    • healed1337 says:

      And I can see why you’d feel that way. In the end it wasn’t really a huge confrontation, just Batman out thinking Bane. That and the letter did throw an alteration to Batman’s origin that wasn’t necessary. It didn’t bother me, but I can understand why it bothers others. Personally i liked the story as a whole.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Paul Bowler says:

        Here’s hoping King fins a happy medium story wise in future. His run has had lots of potential, but it hasn’t quite got that wow factor of the Snyder run. Will be interesting to see when Bane returns and what happens.

        Like

      • Paul Bowler says:

        Yah, I have struggled to enjoy this arc. I love Batman, but the whole thing with the letter wasn’t my cuppa tea at all. To me, that’s just not Batman. Still, new ideas and views are what makes comics so interesting. But, if the next Batman story by King isn’t an improvement, I might just stick to reading Detective ad All Star Batman for a while.

        Like

      • healed1337 says:

        I will agree that of the two, Detective Comics is better. That’s not just because it’s a team book.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Paul Bowler says:

        I do like the dynamic of the team in Detective, a great mix of characters. I think I like Detective so much because its doing something fresh and different.

        Like

  4. wwayne says:

    I agree, Mikel Janin’s art is simply phenomenal. The cover, for example, worths the cost of the issue alone. Which was the controversy you alluded to in your post?

    Like

    • healed1337 says:

      In the previous issue, they made some minor changes to Batman’s origin story. The entire narration was a letter written by Bruce Wayne to Catwoman, and he said that at one point after his parent’s deaths, he contemplated suicide. It was at that point that he decided that Bruce Wayne was dead, and that he would become something different. It didn’t really bother me, but I can see why it bothers some people.

      Like

      • wwayne says:

        It’s not the first time that DC raises hell for a blunder concerning suicide: I remember it had happened more or less the same thing for a Harley Quinn issue. Comics are read by many young people that can be easily influenced in the worst possible way, so I think that DC should be much more accurate when they decide to deal with such a delicate topic.
        Also, I think that DC should stop rehashing Batman’s origin story over and over again: lots of fans (me included) are sick of it. That’s why I stopped watching Batman vs Superman, for example: I turned off the tv the second Snyder decided to introduce a scene concerning Bruce’s troubled childhood. Thank you for your reply, Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! 🙂

        Like

      • healed1337 says:

        Merry Christmas to you too.

        Like

Leave a Reply

