Comics of March 8, 2017 and thoughts on Logan

So I saw Logan last night, and I really liked it. It’s not quite perfect (there are some minor pacing issues in the second act), but the character drama between Logan, Xavier and Laura worked extremely well. In fact, the movie explores the father/daughter relationship between Logan and Laura better than the comics do most of the time. The action is just as brutally awesome as one would hope for an R-rated Wolverine movie, but the R rating isn’t what makes the movie good. It certainly doesn’t hurt, in fact many of the movie’s themes wouldn’t work as well without the R-rating, but it’s the character development that really makes the movie so good. Wolverine goes into a proper berserker rage toward the end, and Laura makes great use of the same tactical fighting she often uses in the comics. The best action scene is easily when the two of them are tag teaming a bunch of gunmen. I can now think of exactly 2 X-Men movies that I don’t have any complaints for, and they’re both rated R.

Anyway, it’s time to talk about comics. The comics I picked up this week include Star Wars: Doctor Aphra 5, Inhumans vs. X-Men 6, All-New Wolverine 18, Supergirl 7, Wonder Woman 18, Detective Comics 952 and Action Comics 975. Here are my first impressions, and links to full reviews will be added when they’re posted.

Inhumans vs X-Men 6 review

All-New Wolverine 18 review

Action Comics 975

Doctor Aphra 5 is great. The action is fun, when the Empire is chasing around Aphra and her father, but there’s also a very nice moment where they have a moment to speak about their relationship. Aphra’s father really digs into his feelings of guilt, and it shows that while they certainly have their problems, they do care about each other. That moment is what propels this issue from merely being fun to being one of the better comics I read this week.

Supergirl 7 is good. This is mostly a one-off story where Supergirl goes into a Kryptonian Werewolf’s head to try and help him get over his condition (since his condition is mostly a mental one). There’s some good character development for this Kryptonian, and this issue shows Kara’s caring nature very well. It’s not a particularly special issue, but Supergirl fans will likely enjoy it.

Wonder Woman 18 is alright. It’s mostly an in-between issue that makes a huge story leap toward the end that confused me for a moment. I started off enjoying this retelling of Wonder Woman’s origin story but it feels like it’s starting to drag. Not sure if I’ll keep reading this series or not, but I’m starting to lean towards no.

Detective Comics 952 is great. This League of Shadows story arc started off really intense, and this issue ramps up the dramatic side of the situation while still giving us plenty of dark storytelling and some great action. As much as this issue is fairly straight forward without too many twists, I still don’t want to spoil what happens, so there probably won’t be a full review of this one. This is a Batman team book, and if you’re a Batman fan, you should be reading this. It’s that simple.

 

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic, comic review, movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comics of March 8, 2017 and thoughts on Logan

  1. xmenxpert says:

    IvX is awful. Just awful. This final issue kinda proved the whole event was a pointless excuse to have heroes fighting. Just stupid.

    Wolverine is great. Excellent finale. Some really nice, touching stuff. But mostly, holy shit that final confrontation between Laura and Kimura is intense.

    And Logan was great. Dafne Keen deserves an Oscar nomination. She was amazing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

