Comics of May 3, 2017

So it’s the first Wednesday of May, and with it, the same issue digital codes for Marvel comics are back. I’m still wondering what they’ll do to replace the missing digital copies for the several months they weren’t doing that. They’re also adding an additional comic to it, which is a nice touch. Unfortunately, this week’s extra digital comic is one I already have, All-New Wolverine 13. Then again, I can’t complain about people who haven’t checked out my favourite ongoing solo book yet getting a free digital issue. Also I’ve decided to drop the Batman series by Tom King. As much as I like Batman, I don’t feel the need to read more than one series with him, and Detective Comics is consistently the better of the two by far. The Tom King series started off well, but it got weaker and weaker as time went on.

Anyway, the comics I picked up this week include Jean Grey 1, X-Men Gold 3, Star Wars Poe Dameron 14, Superman 22 and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 69. Here are my first impressions, and links to full reviews will be added when they’re posted.

Jean Grey 1 review

X-Men Gold 3 review

Superman 22 review

Star Wars: Poe Dameron 14 is really good. In the aftermath of the first major story arc, Black Squadron mourns the loss of one of their own. There’s a lot of personal focus for both Poe and Agent Terex (of the first order). The two characters are often shown side-by-side, demonstrating the similarities and differences between them in both personality and their situation. It works very well, and this comic also a bit dramatic. Not quite as dramatic as I hoped, but it still works. If you enjoyed The Force Awakens, you should check this series out. It takes place in the months before the movie.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 69 is fun. Basically in this story, the Ninja Turtles, along with some of their fellow mutant frenemies, are being hunted by a big evil corporation. The situation is getting pretty intense, but this particular issue isn’t as dramatically heavy as some of the earlier ones, making for an overall enjoyable comic. This series turned me into a Ninja Turtles fan after kind of enjoying them for years, and if you’re a Ninja Turtles fan, you should be reading this series.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic, comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Comics of May 3, 2017

  1. Paul Bowler says:

    I dropped batman from I am Suicide onwards, but I have checked out the Button storylines as it crosses over with the Flash. So I’ve enjoyed that. Green Arrow 22 was really good today, and I enjoyed Superman #22 as well. I don’t tend to read much Marvel now, only Daredevi really, and I’m giving all the Secret Empire stuff a wide berth as well. Have a great new comic book day.

    Like

    • healed1337 says:

      I’m ignoring Secret Empire as well. Just too many events in the last few years. I can understand you checking out Batman if he’s crossing over with the Flash (you do seem to like the Flash), but as someone who knows little about him, it’s not something that will bring me back when I only just dropped it. I do hope the series improves though.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Paul Bowler says:

        I really tried to like King’s Batman, but it just doesn’t work for me. I’m a big fan of The Flash, really like what they’ve done with the character in Rebirth. I agree with you, Marvel have done so many events, its exhausting, add to that how unpalatable Secret Empire is as a story, then I just don’t want to bother with it. I think its a huge misfire for Marvel. I hope Batman improves, but right now Detective and All Star are the only Bat-Books I buy.

        Like

  2. xmenxpert says:

    Jean Grey is good. Solid debut.

    X-Men Gold is very bland.

    Like

Leave a Reply

