Comics of June 14, 2017

Another week, another batch of comics. And after a week where my entirely pull list was 1 comic, it’s nice to get 7 in a week. Somewhere between 6 and 8 comics feels like the ideal number. The comics I picked up this week includes X-Men Blue 5, Hulk 7, All-New Wolverine 21, Star Wars 32, Supergirl 10, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 70 and Detective Comics 958. I intended to pick up Generation X 3, but my store didn’t have enough copies. Here are my first impressions, and links to full reviews will be added when they’re posted.

All-New Wolverine 21 review

X-Men Blue 5 review

Star Wars 32 review

Hulk 7 is great. It’s clear that since the first story arc, Jen is starting to recover from her PTSD and is having fun with her Hulk form again. It’s still different, both physically and mentally, but it suggests that this series will strike a good balance between drama and fun moving forward. There’s also a quick yet welcome appearance by Hellcat. At this point I highly recommend this series to She-Hulk fans.

Supergirl 10 is good. It’s a team-up between Supergirl and Batgirl, both of which are trapped in the Phantom Zone. This issue introduces a possible way for them to escape, while pitting them against one of the first criminals Supergirl’s family banished to the Phantom Zone. It gets kind of dark, it’s intense, and it’s fun watching Kara and Barbara work together to figure out how to escape. This story arc is worth checking out for fans of both characters.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 70 is fantastic. This article concludes a major story arc pitting the Ninja Turtles and the Mutimals against a science-based corporation. The corporation wants to control the mutants for their own army, while also taking the “monsters” off the streets. In the process, the CEO turns himself into a bit of a monster himself, leading to a bit of a tragic ending. It’s a fun comic with a lot of deeper meaning behind it. TMNT fans who aren’t reading this series are making a mistake.

Detective Comics 958 is good. It introduces an arc that seems to be focusing on Azrael while still involving the full Batman team. The middle of the comic explains a lot about Azrael that I’ve never even heard of before, so I enjoyed it. I’m not entirely sure if it’s accurate or how people who already know this information will react, but I think it’s a fascinating start to this new arc. I’m still calling it good instead of my usual great because of my lack of knowledge on Azrael, and that I can’t properly judge this issue on its own because of that. It’s also why I won’t be reviewing this particular issue.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic, comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Comics of June 14, 2017

  1. Paul Bowler says:

    I really enjoyed Detective Comics #958, really good issue, like how the story Azrael this time. I’ve yet to check out X-Men Blue, keep meaning too, just so many good books right now. I did get Iceman #1 the other week though, that was good.

    Like

  2. xmenxpert says:

    X-Men Blue’s fine, it’s well-made, but it needs tightened up.

    Hulk is great. Jen shows some of her sense of humour, and I liked seeing her talk things out with Patsy. I like her trying to take care of herself.

    Wolverine is great. Really good character interactions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

