Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 73 review

Not only did I only pick up two comics this week, but this is the first time in what feels like years that there are no Marvel comics on my pull list. Instead, it’s just this and Superman 28. Most of the other comics I pick up that would normally come out on the first week of the month are arriving next week instead. As such, I’m skipping my usual first impressions post and going straight to the reviews. Besides, it feels like I don’t review this series enough these days.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 73, written by Tom Waltz with story credits to Kevin Eastman and Bobby Curnow, kicks off a new story arc involving Dimension X. It’s been a while since Krang was defeated by the Ninja Turtles, and now he’s about to go on trial in Dimension X for his crimes against both dimensions. The Ninja Turtles are asked to help out as witnesses and welcomed by heroes, but when one of the key masterminds behind the prosecution teams is assassinated, their new mission is to grab key witnesses before they’re killed as well.

Most of this issue is a setup. Because we haven’t seen Krang or Dimension X since before the 50th issue, there’s some catching up to do. It’s done in a way that makes it easy to follow for new readers, while it doesn’t waste time for those who have been reading this series since the beginning. The turtles’ relationships with the royal family and their guards are established quickly. There are a couple other familiar faces whose motivations are in question, but at least for now, it seems like they’re allies. The setup is enjoyable, with a couple scenes dedicated to just letting the turtles be themselves, and there’s a quick but intense fight that introduces a dangerous new villain.

The art by Cory Smith is good. It’s a simple look, but there’s a fair amount of detail on characters, like the royal family and the previously mentioned character with questionable motivations. Facial expressions perfectly capture emotions, like Michelangelo’s slightly embarrassed smile after the princess hugs him, Raphael’s look of rage after the assassin makes his move, and the look of fear in the royal family’s eyes after the same incident. The assassin has a neat design. It’s a great mix of an intimidating look, and the right balance between science fiction and fantasy, like the entirety of Dimension X. Ronda Pattison’s colouring is great as always.

This is a fun comic, and it’s strong build-up for the rest of the Dimension X. It’s easy for new readers to follow as well. I wouldn’t call this the greatest issue in the series, but it’s still definitely worth picking up for series regulars. Until I checked out this series, I had never really been a Ninja Turtles fan. This series changed that. If you’re a fan of the franchise that somehow hasn’t checked this series out yet, then you really should – even if you don’t normally read comics.

7/10

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review, comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 73 review

  1. Paul Bowler says:

    This sounds like a great issue of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. I’ve checked out the series occasionally, but not been a regular reader. I got Superman #28 as well today, not had chance to read it yet though. I hardly buy any Marvel these days, despite Daredevil. I still get Amazing Spider-Man, but even that book is faltering IMOP, so unless it improves I might drop it soon. Have a great new comic book day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

