Logan Legacy 3 review

DEATHOFWOLVLL2014003-DC11-LR-4f0f7The first issue of Logan Legacy was decent, but not good and definitely didn’t stand on its own. The second issue, featuring X-23, was pretty good and works perfectly as a one-shot. This issue features Sabertooth and is somewhere in-between on both counts.

Victor Creed has a long-standing rivalry with Wolverine that is well-worth exploring in Logan’s absence. For years, torturing Logan and trying to prove his superiority was among Sabertooth’s main motivations. Wolverine’s death left a deep void in Creed – one he may not yet realize. This issue does a good job at exploring that void in a subtle way, but doesn’t do anything else special. Sabertooth spends the issue divided between dressing several people up like his long-time rival just to murder them, and slaughtering people in Somalia alongside mercenaries. Meanwhile he has disturbing dreams that Wolverine somehow always got a pass for doing the same kind of stuff that he did.

While this kind of story works for Creed, and the writing by Kyle Higgins is solid, it also shows exactly why he doesn’t deserve to be considered a hero. Here he is, not only slaughtering all sort of people but threatening those he’s working with. He doesn’t understand why people consider Wolverine a hero and himself a villain. He finishes the issue off by stating outright he’s simply going to try to prove himself better than Logan when he has time and time again proven himself much worse. He’s been portrayed eating live kittens in Wolverine and the X-Men for crying out loud. I doubt that even the inversion, whatever it is, will convince me otherwise. He’s a great villain but I can’t see him as anything else in the main Marvel Universe.

The art by Jonathan Marks is, well … I’m not a fan of the style. The gritty art makes sense for such a brutal story about a brutal character, and the colour saturation helps set the mood of each scene. The fight between Sabertooth and Labaraa (some guy with fire powers) is hard to follow, but otherwise it’s generally easy to tell what’s going on. The art works, but I don’t like it.

If you like Sabertooth this comic is at least worth checking out. The art will likely turn some people off like it did me, but if you can get past it it’s a decent exploration of how Wolverine’s death affects Creed in ways he likely didn’t expect. At least so far it didn’t affect his violent nature or his lack of understanding what the rivalry really means on the inside, but that’s part of what makes the comic work. And just like X-23’s issue, you don’t have to read Logan Legacy 1 to enjoy this since it stands very well on its own, though not quite as well.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review, comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Logan Legacy 3 review

  1. xmenxpert says:

    This was a pretty good comic. It shows what a sick and brutal bastard Sabretooth is. I liked the art, but it’s definitely a polarizing style. It reminds me, in some ways, of Marco Rudy, though far more straightforward than Rudy’s. I also like Rudy’s style, so yeah, I liked Marks’ work here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

