X-Men Gold 2 review

Before I get into this review, just know that I won’t be talking about the controversy about the first issue, nor will I allow that to affect my rating. There’s more than enough information online about the controversy if you want to know about it, and how Marvel dealt with it. All I’ll say is that I agree with how Marvel handled it. I just wanted to make that clear.

X-Men Gold 2, written by Marc Guggenheim, kicks off right where the last issue left off. Kitty Pryde’s X-Men team is taking on the new Brotherhood of Evil Mutants. The opening fight scene is intense and takes up almost half of the comic, with the new team showing their capabilities against an underprepared team. The brotherhood also has a nice mix of powers with them, making for a tough and potentially very destructive enemy.

The rest of the issue focuses on the fight’s aftermath. There’s a political aftermath, with a racist on the TV talking about deporting mutants to prevent a species war, and there’s the team recovering from the fight while trying to figure out where Nightcrawler and Old Man Logan ended up. The writing here is mostly good. Old Man Logan gets a moment to shine toward the end, showing that this new Brotherhood might be a bunch of amateurs, but that also increases the mystery surrounding them on another level. Going into this issue, my biggest concern was that there’s too much focus on Kitty Pryde in the point one issue and the first issue. She seems to be the central character in this issue as well, with Old Man Logan’s moment being the only significant scene that doesn’t involve Kitty Pryde. I’m still concerned, but this is a bit of an improvement.

Ardian Syaf’s art is good but nothing special. The action flows well from panel to panel in the opening fight with good use of motion blurs and all the loose rocks on the ground. Colossus’s torn shirt after the fight is a nice touch. Facial expressions convey emotion well, like Old Man Logan’s rage before he makes his move, Kitty Pryde’s focus when she’s studying the new Brotherhood and the concerned looks in the X-kid’s eyes when they’re watching the TV. That said, looking worried is very out of character for Kid Gladiator, yet he’s one of them. Frank Martin’s colouring is great. There’s good use of glows from TVs in dark rooms, the fight scene is bright and colourful and there’s great work with shadows in darker scenes.

This series has a lot of potential, but there’s something that feels dry about this issue. While there are a number of scenes that are supposed to be dramatic, they’re all rushed to make room for the storytelling. The story itself is intriguing but it’s not complex enough to say there isn’t more room for more dramatic focus. This series is worth checking out for X-Men fans, but read it before you buy it.

7/10

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic, comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to X-Men Gold 2 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of April 26, 2017 | healed1337

  2. Sounds interesting. Do you plan on following the whole Marvel Secret Empire event? I also heard about that “reboot” or something that Marvel plans on doing so they can go back to focusing on the “main” heroes of the universe. I forgot what it was called.. Marvel Legacy? I don’t know anymore. Do you plan on checking that out too?

    Like

    • healed1337 says:

      I’m not planning to follow Secret Empire as it comes out at all. If I hear that it’s good, I’ll probably read the trade later.

      As for Generations (I think that’s what you’re talking about), I’ll pick up at least some of it. Besides the opening issue and the All-New Wolverine issue, I’ll figure it out as I go.

      Liked by 1 person

    • xmenxpert says:

      There’s Marvel Legacy, as well. Which isn’t a reboot, but it is a bit of a pull back from the past couple years of all the big-name heroes being replaced, so the classic heroes will be centred a bit more again. The promotional stuff tries to make it clear that it’ll be mixing classic and contemporary heroes. But I think it’s less an event, more an overall branding.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh! I was actually right. Well this shows how complicated I find the whole Marvel side of comics hahah. Legacy.. Generations.. Secret Empire.. Welp. Thanks for the clarification. 😉

        Like

  3. xmenxpert says:

    This was OK, but a step down from the first issue. Weird pacing, too little character stuff, and I’m not sure why Guggenheim is so convinced that Magma should be kind of a terrible person. Also, ugh, how about, instead of the never-ending parade of “every single human on the entire planet hates mutants and wants them dead,” why not do something different? Why not show that it’s more complicated than that, with some people campaigning against mutants and some people arguing in defence of mutants?

    Like

    • healed1337 says:

      That’s one thing I liked about Bendis’s run – he showed both sides of humanity’s feelings toward mutants. X-Men Blue mostly showed pro mutant people while Extraordinary only focused on their survival.

      Like

Leave a Reply

