Comics of May 1, 2019

Today marks the beginning of the 30-day countdown to when I take possession of my first owned property. I’ve handled most of the big stuff, so now I need to figure out how I can furnish the place. My extended family’s donated some of their old furniture, but I’m upgrading from a single room in my parents’ house (a large room at that) to a nearly 1,300 square foot townhouse. It’ll take a while before I fill it out. I’m also hoping to set up internet so it’ll be ready the day I move in. I’ll start working on that tomorrow.

Also I managed to see Avengers: Endgame over the weekend, and I thought it was really good. I won’t be writing my Endgame post until after I see it a second time, whenever that will be, but to sum up my thoughts, it was everything I hoped it would be. Anyway, the comics I picked up this week include War of the Realms 3, Star Wars 65 and Red Sonja 4. Here are my first impressions.

War of the Realms 3 is good. This issue takes some much needed downtime to flesh out the story, and introduce us to all of the tie-ins that are going on, without directly advertising them too much. It’s a good way to give us a break from the constant action in the first two issues while also moving the story forward. The event feels like it’s a bit overambitious like Fear Itself was back in 2011, but at least it’s easily the more entertaining of the two events. This is worth picking up if you’re interested in an event showing all of the 9 realms at war, or if you’ve read Jason Aaron’s entire Thor run leading up to this point.

Star Wars 65 is great. The Rebels’ attempt to sabotage the Empire’s mining planet of Shu-Torun was going well so far in the last couple of issues. This is the one where things start to go wrong. This is the one where the Empire starts to figure out what’s going on and how to fight them back. Furthermore, Luke’s working with a group of extremists who want to cause a lot more damage than what was initially agreed on, which will further complicate things. This series has been consistently great since Kieron Gillen took over, and even before that it was good. Fans of the Original Trilogy era of Star Wars should be reading this.

Red Sonja 4 is fun. The Zamoran Empire’s invasion of Hyrkania continues, with Sonja leading the Hyrkanian defense. While her guerilla tactics are working so far, the Emperor is starting to get more aggressive, and with it, he’s starting to learn more about his enemy. It’s basically a large empire fighting a war against barbarians who are forced to work together. If that sounds like fun, it’s worth checking out.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review, comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Comics of May 1, 2019

  1. xmenxpert says:

    I have also now seen Endgame twice, and I really liked it. The epic final battle is awesome.

    War of the Realms is good. Feels like it maybe relies a little heavily on the tie-ins to flesh out some of what’s happening.

    Like

  2. Paul Bowler says:

    Glad to hear the move is all going ahead ect. I wasn’t to see Endgame again as well, really good film. Hopefully will see it again this weekend. Not had time to get any comics this week, been preparing for my uncle’s funeral, which is tomorrow, so I’ll catch up with what I missed next week. Sounds like you got some great books, especially War Of Realms. Might give that one a look as well maybe.

    Like

Leave a comment