Uncanny X-Men 15 review

tumblr_mxd6k3a8Z21rk7w2qo1_1280

It’s been a long time since an X-Men comic has been about a girl’s shopping trip. Living in a secret bunker hasn’t been easy on their wardrobes, so the women of Cyclops’s X-Men are heading for a night of rampant consumerism that perfectly fits with this time of year. Of course it wouldn’t be a proper X-Men comic without something crazy happening, and that’s where the Inhumanity tie-in happens.

This comic is fun. The opening pages where the characters gather for the shopping trip is a little repetitive, with Magic being a little slow on the uptake (not that it isn’t funny). Some of the dialogue is a bit weird – Emma Frost’s line of “You’ve been wearing that outfit since, like, 1980” sounds way off for her usually snobby attitude. The trip itself is short, but fun. Each character has at least a little room for development, even if just to establish their relations with the others.

The inhumanity tie-in is where the comic really gets interesting though. The X-Men find a hatching cocoon, and inside is a powerful inhuman who hates mutants. He’s about to have quite the wakeup call. Throw in a little conspiracy, and then a short debate on what Inhumanity means for the Mutants. It doesn’t go overboard with exploring the ramifications, instead keeping it short and allowing the reader to come up with different theories until the after affects start actually affecting mutants. It’s a smart move, and kind of makes it exciting.

There’s not much to say about the art – It’s good but nothing special. Different characters are recognizable enough, and the outfits they buy seem fitting for their personalities.

I’ve read a few Inhumanity tie-ins here and there, but this is the first one that actually explores what Inhumanity means for the Marvel Universe at large. On that front, it does a very good job. It doesn’t hurt that it’s an enjoyable comic, even if a bit tedious at first. It’s not a typical issue of Uncanny X-Men, but if either an X-shopping trip or Inhumanity interests you, this is definitely worth reading.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Uncanny X-Men 15 review

  1. Pingback: Comics of December 11, 2013 | healed1337

  2. xmenxpert says:

    I love Girls’ Night Out issues. So I loved this comic. The first half was hilarious, lots of fun. The second half was tense and dramatic. And those last few panels actually raised the same questions other people have about how the rise of Inhumans will affect mutants. I hope to see that explored a bit more. Bendis might. I doubt any other writers will really bother.

    Like

Leave a Reply

