Comics of April 15, 2015

I like months with five Wednesdays. It means that comics are more spread out for the month, making it easier on our wallets. Because I’m ignoring DC’s Convergence (at least until they release in trade), it makes this month even easier.

Before I get into this week’s comics, a few quick updates. First, I’ll be away for the last week of April and the first two weeks of May, so there’s no guarantee I’ll be able to post anything. I’ll try to at least write first impressions posts but there’s no guarantee I’ll be able to pick up any comics in the first place. That’s because I’m going to England with a few friends. On the plus side, I might be able to watch Avengers: Age of Ultron before it releases in North America, and if I do, I’ll be sure to post about that. On the writing front, I’m in the middle of a short story miniseries leading up to the next novel I’ll be writing, and it’s the kind of series where everybody dies. Well … all the good guys anyway.

The comics I picked up include Thor 7, Legendary Star Lord 11 (Black Vortex 12 of 13), Wolverines 14, Ms. Marvel 14, Magneto 17 and Uncanny X-Men 33. So it’s a Marvel only week for me – hopefully next week will make up for that. Here are my first impressions, and links to full reviews will be added when they’re posted.

Legendary Star-Lord 11 review

Wolverines 14 review

Thor 7 review

Ms. Marvel 14 is great. In the last issue, Kamala met a fellow Muslim immigrant who happens to be an Inhuman. It continues with their mutual attraction, which takes a surprising turn by the end. There’s a lot to like about this comic, and it touches on every aspect of Kamala’s personal life in deeper ways than the series has before. Anyone who reads Marvel comics should give this series a chance if they haven’t already.

Magneto 17 is dark. Cullen Bunn’s run has been pretty dark and bleak before, but the way this comic ends might be the darkest. It’s good mind you, but if you’re getting tired of this comic’s mood, this issue won’t help. Without spoilers, someone is killing mutants on the recently resurrected Genosha, and the killer’s identity is revealed. Magneto fans should check this out if they haven’t yet, but keep in mind that this series is relentless.

Uncanny X-Men 33 is great, and is probably my favourite comic of the week. Kitty Pryde and Magik team up on Monster Island to search for a new mutant. What more do you need? Their banter is consistently fun, their friendship is explored and the new mutant has interesting abilities that I won’t spoil. Brian Michael Bendis has done a lot of good things with both characters in his run though, so was there any doubt that this issue would be good? If you like either character, this is pretty much a must read.

About healed1337

I am a relatively new comic book fan writing this blog for other new comic book fans and/or people who are interested in comics but don't know where to start. I've always been interested in writing, to the point where I have a college Creative Writing Certificate and I'm currently a year 2 Journalism student. I also have another blog where I mostly make fun of bad movies - www.healed1337.blogspot.com As for how I got into comics, I've always had a passing interest in superheroes: most notably Batman, Spider-man and the X-Men. Until February of 2011 (I think,) my only experience with any of these franchises came from the movies and video games. Shortly after I bought Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 however, I decided to check out X-23, Wolverine's female clone. I ended up reading her Innocence Lost origin story and enjoyed it. From there, I started reading various X-Men comics and it quickly exploded into my newest hobby. My other interests/hobbies include video games, movies, music, playing sports, my dogs and weird news.
This entry was posted in comic review, comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comics of April 15, 2015

  1. xmenxpert says:

    Thor was good.

    Star-Lord was OK.

    Wolverines was OK. But Daken sucks.

    Ms. Marvel was as fantastic as always. Poor Kamala’s gotten her heart broken, and it only took the guy one day to do it. The Bruno/Aamir scene was excellent.

    Magneto was good, but the unrelentingly dark and melodramatic writing is just getting dull.

    UXM was fun, and a series following the two of them on crazy adventures would be the best thing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

